A View from the Window.

I feel like I’m a character in Rear Window when I’m sitting at my computer.  Because of space constraints and logistical issues, my desktop has landed in the guest room right in front of the window.  It’s a large window that looks out on the courtyard where the garbage cans are kept as well as the grassy area next door.  When it’s light outside, especially at dusk, it looks like a set from a movie.  There are fire escapes, glows from the windows that are set into large brick apartment buildings.  It’s both peaceful and disconcerting all at the same time.  At night it’s very different.  When the lights are on in the bedroom I can only see the courtyard below lit by the amber security lights.  Unless a light is on in a window across the way I look out into darkness.  Most of the time I don’t think about it.  But some nights, like tonight, I realize that out there, in the twenty or so apartments that I can see, someone could be watching me.  I don’t think this in the narcissistic sort of aren’t they lucky to be able to see me way.  More in the “this is kind of creepy” sort of way.  When I stop and think about it, sometimes I have to get up and walk away to get rid of the weird feeling.  Of course there are times when I’m the one doing the watching.  I’m sitting at my computer working and a light pops on across the way.  Try as I might to not look I find that I’m not able.  Of course I probably wouldn’t mind if the neighbor across the way was “hot”.  He is gay.  He’s just not hot.  Well not to me anyway.  Even if he was, I wouldn’t write that because I’d come home tomorrow and Adam would have moved my computer into the living room away from the window.  So I should probably be grateful for that.  I’ll have Adam take pictures sometime of the view.  It would be nice to post them.

2 thoughts on “A View from the Window.

  1. Lemuel November 20, 2009 / 06:39

    I find the thought of looking out a window over a pastoral scene as I “computer” to be quite relaxing. Looking out over a courtyard and into other apartments – not so much. Thinking that others could be lurking in the dark watching me – creepy.
    Mrs G’s lappy sits on a desk that is in front of a large picture window. There is a beautiful tree outside. When the leaves are on the tree, it is a beautiful sight and it hides us from our neighbors across the street. Now that the leaves are down, we are exposed. We do have a neighbor who watches everything we do. We know because he tells us a bit too much about our lives.

  2. javabear November 20, 2009 / 08:59

    I hate being seen. I’m a bit mental about it, actually. Watching others, though, is fascinating as long as they don’t know I’m watching. But I don’t go out of my way to spy, mind you.

    I have never seen Rear Window. It’s in my queue along with dozens of other movies. I don’t watch movies very often, so my queue grows more often than it shrinks.

Leave a Reply

