A Weekend in the life of Maddog.

The ceiling is patched.  The wall is patched, damp, but patched.  The bathroom ceiling is patched.  The bathroom door now closes.  The foyer door now closes.  With any luck at all we will be all unpacked and ready to move on to new projects in the next couple of weeks.

Actually our schedule is insane from now till the end of January.

It is.

This weekend 10/24:  Paint, put things away.

Next weekend 10/31:  Hang paintings.

Next weekend 11/7:  Finish up all apartment things.

Next weekend 11/14:  Arthur comes to visit.

Next weekend 11/21:  Adam has a cake due.  Plan for Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving weekend:  My mom, my aunt, my cousin, her husband and their three kids are driving up from Kentucky. (They are all staying with us as well).  Adam is cooking dinner for all of us.  While he’s cooking I’m taking them all to the parade.  On Friday will be a whirlwind tour of the city.  We’ll go until they all drop over from exhaustion.

They leave on Saturday.  On Saturday and Sunday we put up the Christmas Tree

Following weekend 12/5: Michelle comes to visit.  We finish decorating for Xmas.

Following weekend 12/12:  Christmas open house.  (You are all invited)

Following weekend 12/19:  Drive to Kentucky, then to Texas.

Spend the week in Texas.

Following weekend 12/16:  Drive to Kentucky and then to NYC.

Following weekend:  I have to work.  To be off for Thanksgiving and Christmas I’ve agreed to work New Years.  I won’t celebrate the New Year with Adam but spending the other holidays with family makes up for it.

The next weekend is our one year anniversary.  We are hoping to go away that weekend.

The next weekend:  We have nothing planned.

Following weekend:  We drive to Kentucky to spend four days with my family.

I’m exhausted just thinking about it.  And none of this includes things like plans with friends, theater, dates, etc.  It also doesn’t include things like making the 200 handmade Christmas cards that Adam has decided we should make.  I suggested sending them, he suggested making them.  So sometime in November we have to spend a day making them, so they can be signed, addressed and mailed in time for Christmas.  Let me know if you’d like me to send you one.

And now, I think I should go to bed.  It’s going to take all the energy I can muster to get through all of this.

6 thoughts on “A Weekend in the life of Maddog.

  1. Rick October 22, 2009 / 06:05

    Talk about planning. What a schedule. And to ‘hand make’ 200 Christmas cards. Geez! I don’t think I’ve ever even sent that many let alone make them. But it’s a wonderful idea.

  2. Sarah October 22, 2009 / 08:15

    I don’t even have today as well scheduled as your month is and today is happening right now!

  3. catrina October 22, 2009 / 14:18

    Dear Lord! I just thought about looking for a good stuffing recipe for Thanksgiving. Notice I said “thought about it;” I haven’t even got around to it yet. Just reading what’s in store for you tires me out!

  4. Karen October 22, 2009 / 15:45

    But on the other hand it’s wonderful to have a plan… and to have someone to plan with … that’s what makes life so much fun. Can you post a photo of your card? I’d love to see what you are planning to make!

  5. javabear October 22, 2009 / 21:04

    Oooh, you’re working New Years. Knowing the location of your restaurant, and remembering that you try to avoid working that night because of it, I’m impressed by your dedication to the Thanksgiving and Christmas plans and the people with whom you’ll be sharing those holidays.

    Is your life always that busy? Do you like busy? There are certain advantages to busy, and there are plenty of interesting things to do to keep you busy. I usually don’t make plans because other factors in my life are so chaotic that plans are regularly superseded. So I don’t bother.

  6. Urspo October 22, 2009 / 23:06

    that sounds fun but tiring. So pace yourselves!

Leave a Reply

