Maddog at Work

Here’s a run down of the end of my night tonight.  My last table of the night was a doozy.  They sat down, all five of them.  I brought over menus and then immediately four of them got up and left.  I said hello and told the girl that I’d be back when everyone was there.  They finally get back and here’s basically the gist of the conversation.  How much is a beer?  7 dollars.  How much is a big beer?  8 dollars.  How much is a small beer.  7 dollars.  I want a bottle of beer, slamming her hand down on the table.  How much is a bottle of beer.  7 dollars.  How much is a small beer.  7 dollars.  I want the cheapest beer you have.  They are all about the same price.  Yes, but which one is cheaper.  I don’t know they are all about the same price.  How much is a bottle of beer?  7 dollars.  How much is a big beer 8 dollars.  How much is a small beer.  7 dollars.  How about a pitcher of beer.  We don’t have pitchers of beer.  How much is Budweiser.  Around 7 dollars.  A Stella.   About 7 dollars.  A big Stella.  About 8 dollars.  A bottle of Stella.  We don’t have bottles of Stella.  But there is a picture in the menu.  I know but we don’t have bottles of Stella.  How much, how much, how much.  I finally said, how about this?  You guys discuss what you want and how much you want to spend and I’ll be back.  Of course they wanted me to come back almost immediately and I was busy by that time and they’d lost their prompt opportunity so I told them they’d have to wait.  Then they called over the manager in training and told him that they’d ask me how much beers were and had never come back.  By this time I was done with them.  They ended up having 3 beers they split between five people and two appetizers.  They also complained because the food was taking too long.  I pretty much ignored them and of course they stiffed me.  I really didn’t care I have to admit.

I do have to admit that my favorite part of the experience was when the guy asked me why there were no prices in the drinks menu.  I told him that I didn’t know.  And he very smuggly said, well if I worked here I’d make sure there were prices in the menu.  I guess he’s going to get a  job at corporate next week.

Leave a Reply

