Oz Moving Sucks Ass.

I got a letter from OZ moving company today.

It said:

Dear Maddog:

We regret that your relocation did not take place without incident and apologize for any inconvenience to you as a result.  Pursuant to our conversation, enclosed please find our check in the amount of $100.00.

We wish to extend our appreciation to your (her word not mine) for allowing us to service your move and hope that you will consider us for any future moving needs.

Sincerely,

OZ Moving.

Hmmm.

I’d like to call and tell her to stick her fucking check up her fucking ass.

I won’t but I’d like to.

Don’t get me wrong I appreciate the money.  A hundred bucks is a hundred bucks.

However.

I did not ask for money.  I did NOT expect money.

What I wanted was an apology.  I wanted someone to care that an employee urinated in front of my apartment building.  I wanted someone to care that their crew was drinking on the job.  What I wanted was for her to assure me that I did NOT get the “B” team because I lived in Washington Heights, east of Broadway.  What I wanted was for her to realize that I was NOT making this shit up and that everything I described actually happened.

What I got was a pay off.

Two little paragraphs.

So part of me says cash the check, right it off and never use them again.

A bigger part of me says fuck the check and send her and her boss an email saying FUCK YOU!  Or perhaps I cash the check and still send the email saying fuck you.  I don’t even feel like she even apologized.  There are probably some people out there in reader land with employees.  If a customer of yours called and said your employee pissed on the sidewalk.  Would you apologize?  Or would you send a nice prewritten note that says you regret that thing didn’t go as planned and apologize for any inconvenience.  Pissing on my sidewalk was not an inconvenience to me.  Drinking on the job was not an inconvenience to me.  Breaking my stuff was an inconvenience to me.  So what are you regretting.  That they broke my stuff?  Or that they got caught drinking and broke my stuff?  I have a feeling you only regret that you feel like I’m looking for money.  I work in the service industry.  I asked my friend Daniel who is a manager there what his response would be:  First he’d fire everyone involved.  Second he’d call and apologize, and apologize, and apologize to make it right.  That’s not happening here.

The more I type the angrier I get.  The angrier I get the more likely I am to fire off a series of emails that might not be a good idea at 4:00 a.m.

So give me some advice:

Do I cash the check and let it go?

Do I cash the check and let her and her boss know that it doesn’t make up for the experience.

Do I tell her to fuck her check and her company.  (I won’t do this but it sounds good in theory).

5 thoughts on “Oz Moving Sucks Ass.

  1. Kelly October 7, 2009 / 06:26

    Cash the check. Wait a few days so they cannot stop payment. Then tell them to fuck themselves.

  2. Tom October 7, 2009 / 07:30

    Cash the check and forget about it… You have a great new beginning and as they say “SHIT HAPPENS”…

  3. Sarah October 7, 2009 / 09:27

    If you cash the check, you have in essence accepted a settlement from them. Does $100 indemnify you? Will you be able to replace the broken items for that amount? If not, get on the phone to the woman and let her know the replacement costs.

    If $100 makes you happy, cash it. Send Oz a note thanking them for the timely delivery of the check, rip them a new one for their unbelievable lack of customer service skills and do not indicate that you need a better apology because you are not going to get one.

  4. catrina October 7, 2009 / 12:51

    Sounds like you got the standard kiss-off letter, which leads me to believe you’re not the first to receive such a letter. I’d cash the check, wait a couple days, then send them a letter stating that you weren’t looking for reimbursement (especially since it didn’t fully reimburse you for your damaged property), but that you expected professionalism on their part. I know you could cash the check and write it off as another life experience. But I suspect that you’re of the same nature as me—SOB’s gotta know that it just wasn’t right.

Leave a Reply

