Maddog’s Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Today was not a good day.

Not a good day at all.

I didn’t sleep last night.

I know that it took over two hours to get to sleep.  I base that on the last time I looked at the clock.  I started to get up a couple of times, but my arms were all intertwined with Adam’s and he was sleepy so peacefully that I didn’t want to disturb him.  Even after I got to sleep, I tossed and turned and woke up a lot.  I even tried to go back to sleep after Adam left for work and that was sort of useless as well.  I kept tossing and turning, praying that sleep would come.

I finally got up at 1:00.

First thing on my agenda:

Call Oz Moving.

Adam had called yesterday to get the number of the person that I needed to talk to.

Nancy.

I called and was put through to her immediately.  I explained why I was calling and that I was not happy about the move on Sunday.

She asked me to tell her what I was unhappy about.

I asked her if I should start with the “bad stuff,” “the really bad stuff,” or the stuff that was totally inexcusable.

She suggested that I start at the beginning.

She said hmm.  And uh huh a lot.

Well for about three minutes.

I told her that the foreman of the job came in smelling like booze and cigarettes and that I’d assumed it was from the night before, but later I realized it was probably from drinking that morning.  She wanted to know why I thought he was drinking.  Uh….because I saw him.

Even then she wanted me to go on.

When I told her about the guy pissing on the street in front of my building, she was speechless.  What do you say to someone about that.

I told her that I felt like I got the B team because it was a raining Sunday and I lived in the hood.  She assured me that everyone got the same treatment from their company.  So let me get this right, your crew pisses in front of buildings on Central Park West.  The upper class must really love that.

I could go on.  She barely apologized.  She assured me that Peter was a model employee and he would never do what I saw him do.  That she’d check into and get back to me.  She also said she would send over a claim form and that I could fill it out and send it back to her.  I was on the phone with her about 30 minutes or so.  I wish I could say it made me feel better but I get the feeling that they are all covering for each other.

She emailed the form to me, which I forwarded to Adam.  We filled in the blanks and then I had him fax it to her.  I got a call her from her at the end of the day.  I’ll let you know what she has to say tomorrow night.

By now it’s time to get ready for work and I’m in a shitty mood.

So I get ready, take the train downtown and head into work.

Where I find next weeks schedule.

I’m only scheduled two days.

What the FUCK????

I try to ask the manager who does the schedule.  He tells me it’s no longer his problem, that Mandy has taken over the schedule.  I go to Mandy and she tells she did the schedule but she pretty much did what Allan told her to do.  By this time I’m pissed.  I go back to Allan and he won’t even engage me.  I go back to Mandy and I tell her I want to know what’s going on.  Have I pissed someone off?  Did someone complain about me?  Is this because I’ve been taking so much time off.  What’s the deal.

She answers all my questions without once looking at me.  She was typing on the computer and never once even glanced my way.

By now I’m pissed.

I go to the new AGM and ask him what the deal is.

He tells me he’ll get back to me.

And he does.  At the end of the night.  He assures me it was just a mistake and that it will be corrected on the next schedule.

So let me get this straight.  Mandy/Allan made a mistake and only gave me two shifts.  So basically they made a mistake that’s going to cost me hundreds of dollars and that’s okay.  I’m supposed to just deal with it.  So if I make mistake tomorrow night that costs the company several hundred dollars are they going to just LOOK the other way.

So I’m broke.

My shit is broke.

Ugh.

3 thoughts on “Maddog’s Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. rick October 1, 2009 / 05:47

    Hope you’re feeling better.

  2. Sarah October 1, 2009 / 07:52

    Passive aggressive management? Are you kidding?

  3. Urspo October 1, 2009 / 22:10

    yikes; no fun in any of that. I am sorry

Leave a Reply

