OZ MOVING COMPANY SUCKS ASS!!!!!!

OZ MOVING COMPANY SUCKS ASS!!!!

Let me repeat that…

OZ MOVING COMPANY SUCKS ASS!!!!

I have moved 21 times since 1987.

21 times.

I have moved myself.  I have had relatives move me.  I’ve had friends move me.  I’ve had friend’s of relatives move me.  I’ve had movers move me.  I thought the moving company that moved me in California, but this weekends was the worst.

Let’s see

1.  They showed up an hour late.  The reservation was for 9:00 a.m.  I didn’t get a call till almost 9:30 a.m. telling me there was a problem.  I was told then that they’d be there in 20 minutes.  They finally arrived at 10:15.

2.  The first person into my apartment had the social skills of a rock.  He walked in, didn’t introduce himself, didn’t apologize for being  late.  He barely acknowledged me at all.  He was a mumbler.  He had to repeat himself for me to even know what he said when he finally started speaking.

3.  I was scolded because I hadn’t emptied a trunk.

4.  I asked them to use my boxes before they started using their own but they didn’t.

5.  I clearly explained to him what needed to be moved and what was staying and yet he didn’t communicate any of that to his crew.  Every time someone came into my apartment I had to explain everything all over again.

6.  I became a little concerned when he carried a piece of furniture out by it’s legs.  The furniture was not light.  I was also concerned that he only asked for help a couple of times getting things out of my apartment.  Not everything I own is light.

7.  They left a mess of tape, tape rolls and empty coffee cup strewn about the apartment.

8.  There was no concern for the wooden floors as Peter the foreman shifted and scooted furniture around the room.  Clearly none of their customers are high end clients.

9.  They took the drawers out of a chest of drawers in my bedroom and then placed them in a box without wrapping them or adding any extra padding.  It’s the most expensive piece of furniture I own and is quite nice.

10.  When they finally finished the driver told me that he’d be leaving in a few minutes.  I tidied up some things in my home and then looked out the window to see if they were gone yet.  I saw the following two things.

a.  One of the crew pissing on the street in front of my apartment building.

b.  The foreman of the crew drinking a beer from a paper bag.  (How did I know it was a beer.  Because I saw him throw it away and then went downstairs and checked).

10.  I called to complain about the drinking and then driving with my stuff across town and was pretty much told that I could call the next day and file a complaint.  I was also told that the dispatcher would be told that I’d seen the crew drinking.  What that translated into was having the dispatcher call Peter, the foreman, and tell him that I’d seen the crew drinking and driving.  Which then translated into Peter confronting me telling me that if I had a problem I should have just called the cops.  Which then led to very tense next 90 minutes as I watched Peter bring things into my house.

11.  The drawers were pulled out of a box that turned out to have other things in it, and that none of the items had been wrapped in any way.

12.  Once again they left, leaving a swath of tape remnants behind.

13.  And the reason for this post.

I have moved 21 times in the last 22 years.  21 times.  I have things broken.  A marble table top.  A dish here and there.  What I have never had happen is entire boxes being broken.   In one box of dishes 50% of the stemware in the box was broken.  I had a large salad bowl wrapped in newspaper, then wrapped in bubble wrap that was in pieces.  I had a column that was anything if not sturdy and solid that was left crumbled in a million pieces.  I no longer have a complete set of stemware in any pattern.  They even broke a sandstone coaster that was in one box.  21 times, a few things.  One time, entire boxes.

I had decided that I was just going to let it all go but after opening all these boxes today I’ve decided against that.  First thing in the morning, I’m going to get on the phone and I’m not going to stop calling until I talk to someone.  I don’t actually expect them to do anything but they need to know that as a company they are anything more than reputable.az

7 thoughts on “OZ MOVING COMPANY SUCKS ASS!!!!!!

  1. Peter September 30, 2009 / 06:40

    A few items broken I could live with, but boxes full of broken stuff… they need to pay for that. Let’s hope they are insured for that.

  2. Sarah September 30, 2009 / 08:20

    Get on them about who their insurer is so that you may file a claim. Otherwise you have to decide if small claims is worth it. If you have a lawyer friend, you could ask her to craft a demand letter for you. Often just seeing an attorney’s letterhead gets people to pay up.

  3. Lemuel September 30, 2009 / 10:57

    Here in PA, Maddog, moving companies are regulated/licensed by an agency of the commonwealth. Check to see what the oversight state/city agency for NY is and file a hefty complaint.
    Sue the bastards.

  4. Urspo October 1, 2009 / 22:11

    more frustration. I am sorry again.

  5. javabear October 3, 2009 / 21:29

    That is inconceivable. Did you call? Have you gotten any kind of satisfactory response? Good luck. That just sucks.

  6. Gena October 11, 2011 / 09:27

    They moved me too, last May. They are great! I have no one thing that I can complain about it. Guys were quick and accurate and clean. Not to mention nice and friendly. Maybe you just got a wrong crew. Sorry that happened to you.

  7. Jon doe August 17, 2012 / 14:44

    You are just one of the many uptight assholes in this world do us all a favor and move out of the country

Leave a Reply

