Maddog’s Morning.

My day:

Woke up at 7:15.

Snoozed the alarm.

Snoozed the alarm.

Snoozed the alarm.

Got up.

Kissed Adam.

Made coffee.

Drank some Diet Coke while it brewed.

Started the shower.

Turned on my computer

Showered.

Dried off.

Kissed Adam again.

Made a cup of coffee.

Got dressed.

Drank my cup of coffee.

Finished packing.

Drank a second cup of coffee.

Kissed Adam again.

Moved everything for the trip to the foyer.

Told Adam I was going to get the car.

Left the apartment.

Walked up the street.

And walked.

And walked.

And walked.

And walked.

Didn’t find car.

Turned around.

And walked.

And walked.

And walked.

And walked.

Didn’t find the car.

Rinse and repeat.

And my fourth pass, I met Adam.

We walked.

And walked.

And walked.

And didn’t find the car.

Started back to our apartment to formulate a plan.

Happened to notice a random strip of yellow paint in the middle of the block the car was supposed to be on.

Called 311.

Checked on line.

Called.

Yeap.

Car towed.

Fuck.

Fuck.

Fuck.

I was supposed to be on the road at 9:00 a.m.  I finally drove out of Manhattan at 1:30. 

Because my car was a rental, and my rental agreement was in the car, I had to call Hertz to get a new one.  Except they won’t fax you one.  So I had to go to a Hertz dealer, jump through some hoops to get a copy of my agreement.

Then I had to go downtown to 38th Street and 12th Avenue to pay the tow feel.  I didn’t even know there was a 12 Avenue.  I thought there was just the West Side Highway.

Then I had to wait for my papers to be processed.  (They were actually very efficient and nice.  Although I told Adam that I would hate their job because I think I was the only one nice to them while we were there).

I pay the fee, get a receipt and now I have to go all the way BACK uptown (I started at 215 and Broadway.  I’m at 38th and 12th now).  I have to go to 203 and 9th Avenue (which I didn’t know existed until today.  It’s actually east of Broadway which through me off).  There I had to give all my paperwork, and my license to a rent a cop to get my car back.

It’s now 12:45. 

The fee was 185.

The fine is 165.

I spent 400 dollars today and I didn’t even start my trip yet. 

Fuck.

Fuck.

Fuck.

Luckily the trip was smooth.  I made good time, the weather cooperated and there was no traffic. 

I’m here.

I’ll tell you about the wedding this weekend.

4 thoughts on “Maddog’s Morning.

  1. Peter September 10, 2009 / 04:02

    Have a good trip!

  2. Lemuel September 10, 2009 / 06:44

    Lesson learned?
    Now, you are there and you are safe. Enjoy your stay.

  3. Sarah September 10, 2009 / 12:27

    Thank you so much for that. I thought my day had started badly, but turns out I am wrong.

  4. javabear September 11, 2009 / 22:26

    That totally sucks. Well, except the getting there safely and all. That part is good.

Leave a Reply

