Less Complaining…

I’m back on a more saner note.

So while I was gone…I did a show in Maine, that was a raving success.

And the week I got back I did a show in one of the bigger summer play festivals in NYC.  The festival is a way to develop new works and give writers a chance to see their shows staged.  A friend of mine from grad school wrote the play I worked on, and the other designers were all friends from there as well.

It was an awesome experience.  As a lighting designer I’m not often brought in early in the design process.  Much of the time we are sent scenery drawings and are expected to just respond to what’s already been figured out.  In an ideal world the entire design team, along with the director, have meetings to figure out the look and the feel of the show.  We were all hired with the stipulation that we could attend a long series of meetings.  We started a couple of weeks into May and the show closed last week.  That’s a long time for a one act play that’s part of a play festival.  And I loved every minute of it.

The director was a bit crazy, but I think you have to be a bit crazy to do anything in the world of theater.  But when it was all said and done, he brought together a great team of people and produced a pretty good show.  There are still some problems with the script but that was the point of the festival.   Give writers a chance to hear their shows spoken, on it’s feet in a real setting.  The script has great potential I think.  Overall I thought the show looked great and sounded great.  I thought all of the design elements were cohesive and did a great job of bringing the play to life.

When it was all said and done it was one of the best design experiences I have had in a long time.  On top of that I got to meet and work with a lot of new people and had an awesome time.

Now I just have to find other work in NYC so that I can start waiting tables less.

Tomorrow I’ll tell you about the actor who told the costume designer to shove his socks up her cunt.  I promise.

6 thoughts on “Less Complaining…

  1. Rick August 6, 2009 / 05:31

    Sounds like a rewarding experience. Interesting how bringing you in early, on design, changes things.

  2. Peter August 6, 2009 / 07:51

    What a luck you backed out of the “Oklahoma Experience”.
    Now you have two plays you can look back on that were a success and didn’t give you that much stress.

  3. Sarah August 6, 2009 / 08:19

    I was thinking exactly what Peter wrote.

  4. Urspo August 6, 2009 / 10:19

    I am glad to hear you cheerful about a theatre experience; often they sounds dreary or vexing for you.

  5. Java August 6, 2009 / 12:41

    And that’s what it’s all about! I’m pleased for you.

  6. SMKelly August 8, 2009 / 22:18

    GASP!!! I can’t wait to hear about that actor…!

Leave a Reply

