A Weekend in the Country.

Been missing in action for the past few days.  Adam and I went to Maine over the weekend to visit the lesbians.  It’s always nice to go up north.  I’m always treated as royalty.  We are pampered and taken care of.  They have completely brought Adam into the fold and made him one of the gang as well.

We drove up on Thursday night.  That was an adventure in and of itself.  I reserved the car over a month ago.  I always rent from a Hertz rental in Fort Lee, New Jersey.  It’s cheaper than anywhere else in the city, it takes about 10 minutes to get there from my house and more importantly they are cheaper than anywhere else in the city. 

I originally reserved the car for 4:00 but I called early in the day to see if I could pick it up early.  I was told no.  I called back a few hours later and was told the same thing.  By now it’s clear I’m not going to get the car early, so I waited for Adam to come home from work early and we trekked out together.  We got there about 4:25 and we were told that our name was being added to the list and that we were second but it would be about an hour before we could get our car.  I was not totally surprised but I WAS a little annoyed.  We told them we were going across the street to Wendy’s and that we’d be back in about 30 minutes.  When we returned the office was full of people waiting and there were still no cars to give to anyone.  After about 10 minutes the people in front of us got their car.  About 30 minutes later we got our car.  Everyone who arrived after we returned from Wendy’s was told, “I’m sorry you had a reservation.  We are over booked.  You are NOT getting a car.”  I would have been livid.  

We DID finally get our car.  It was the size of Detroit.  

(I just had the crap scared out of me.  The window shade in Adam’s room just sprung loose and crashed it’s way up.  I thought I’d been shot).

It was a Grand Marquee.  

mercury_grand_marquis

It looked like the car that your grandmother would drive to get her hair done on Friday, so she could go to church on Sunday.  

I was afraid to wait for a smaller car because I wasn’t sure I’d get a car at all.  To make matters worse the car did NOT have an Ipod jack (grandmother’s don’t have Ipods?) which meant that we couldn’t listen to the music we’d brought along.  And who travels with CD’s anymore.

As I said we were lucky to have a car.

And we were off.

We arrived eight hours later.  It’s supposed to be a five hour drive.  We hit traffic just before we got to New Haven and we were in traffic till just before we got to New Hampshire.  It sucked.  If it weren’t for the fact that I like spending time with my boyfriend I would have been completely annoyed.  The only real annoying thing was the radio.  Do DJ’s have to talk so much?  Can’t they play music?  And do we have to have a new station every two minutes.  We’ve only driven three miles why are we already out of range?

We got there around 1:00 a.m.  We were asleep by 1:30 a.m.

We slept till around 10:00 the next morning.  

To Be Continued…

6 thoughts on “A Weekend in the Country.

  1. Rick July 7, 2009 / 04:49

    I thought I saw a red Grandma car racing up I-95.

  2. Peter July 7, 2009 / 05:45

    That’s what you get when you want to travel for less. Instead of listening to the radio you could have sung all your favorites… unless you’re tone-deaf 😉

  3. Bob July 7, 2009 / 06:29

    Grandma don’t need no stinking iPod!

  4. javabear July 8, 2009 / 08:35

    Grandma can’t hear worth a crap anyway, so why does she need an iPod?

  5. Urspo July 8, 2009 / 23:00

    size of detroit? that town is shrinking day by day!

  6. Donnie July 10, 2009 / 08:40

    Hey, before I got my current Mercury Mountaineer, I used to have a red Mercury Grand Marquis like in your pic. I loved it! It was a fast/powerful “land yacht” that was very comfortable.

Leave a Reply

