Michael Jackson

Say what you want about Michael Jackson, the effect his talent will continue to have on the music world will be felt for a long time to come.  I know he was strange but he was immensely talented and a true star.  

It was interesting being at work with so many other people around as the news spread of his heart attack and then death.  We don’t usually show news on TV at work, but the manager changed the TV to CNN.  We had no sound but the headlines were enough.  What was really strange to me was how people were reacting.  One woman said, “Well what can you do?  We all gotta go sometime.”  There was no compassion at all.  Others were deeply moved.  Their faces focused on the TV barely able to distract themselves to order another beer.  I think that was most strange to me was the inability to take it all in myself.  I remember other bad news days and I remember where I was.  I remember being tuned to the TV even before cable to watch all the updates and to try and find out what happened.  Tonight I was told he died.  And then I went up to a table and asked them if they were ready to order their dinners.  I hate that I will always remember this day as a day I was working.

I don’t even know what else to say.  I do know that his death today was a tragedy.  His funeral in a few days will be a circus.

4 thoughts on “Michael Jackson

  1. Rick June 26, 2009 / 05:28

    Sad day. Both Farrah and Michael.

  2. javabear June 26, 2009 / 09:53

    This reminds me so much of the day Elvis died. I heard it on the news and was shocked! It was so unexpected.

    I read about Michael on Joe.My.God. last night. I was shocked. I’m sad about Farrah, but have been expecting her death, as I knew she was losing her battle with cancer. I’m just shocked about Michael.

  3. Urspo June 27, 2009 / 00:45

    the rumors, legends and Michael sightings are just about to start.

Leave a Reply

