And it’s one, two, three strikes your out!

There seems to be no fallout from the conversation.  Of course I didn’t get to talk to my mom today so I’ll get her side of the story tomorrow.

Adam and I and five of his c0-workers and their spouses, families etc. went to a Mets game tonight.  It’s the first baseball game I’ve been to in about five years.  I actually like baseball.  I grew up in the 70’s watching the Cincinnati Reds.  I was a huge Pete Rose fan, as well as Johnny Bench and Joe Morgan fan.  I would love it when my mother came home and told us we were going to a game.  I collected baseball cards and little hats that sundaes came in at Dairy Queen.  For about a second you might have thought I was straight.  But for no more than a second.

The Mets have a new stadium.  It’s beautiful.  There are a million places to eat and drink and a place to buy a souvenir on every corner.  The prices are as high as ever, but at least everything is new.  The one thing missing in the new stadium is piss troughs.

Uridan-GR1200-3-G-waterless-1200mm-long-trough-urinal-from-Watersave-Australia

Riverfront Stadium’s public restroom was pretty much one big piss trough.

To a gay 12 year old boy this was amazing.  I had to go pee at least once during every inning.  And the ones in Riverfront Stadium were a circle so you actually faced other men who were pissing.  It brings back fond memories.  Alas piss troughs are pretty much a thing of the past.  With our sexual revolution and freedom came uptight men who were suddenly afraid to piss in front of another man.  I guess the 12 year olds of today will have to find some other way to look at men’s penises. 

I’m now going to sleep and dream of times gone by.

6 thoughts on “And it’s one, two, three strikes your out!

  1. javabear June 24, 2009 / 23:50

    There are many things that I do not like about being female. Occasionally, however, I am glad I’m not a guy.

    I didn’t used to like baseball, but over the last decade or so I have developed quite a fondness for it. I’m a Braves fan, of course. The games aren’t televised as much as they used to be. They have some new kind of broadcast arrangement, I think it involves watching online, but requires a subscription. That’s how I understand it, but I could very well be wrong. Whereas last year almost every Braves game was on the telly on one channel or another, this year we’re lucky to get one game a week on any of the channels I get. Since I so rarely watch television, I have only seen two games this year. I miss it.

    Who won?

  2. Rick June 25, 2009 / 05:01

    Fenway had a piss trough too. It was then I knew I was gay.

  3. Sarah June 25, 2009 / 10:02

    After Comiskey was demolished in Chicago and the new whatever corporate sponsor name field opened, my roommate went to the opening game. He reported that the biggest change was that the park, “…doesn’t smell like urine.”

  4. BearToast Joe June 25, 2009 / 15:27

    A local university had a stadium built in the 30’s. The piss trough was built into the wall with the back wall being marble. Those were the days. The euphemism for having to go pee was, “I gotta go face the marble.”

    And, did you have to pee during each inning? Or just need to go to the men’s room? there is a difference.

  5. catrina June 25, 2009 / 21:12

    Being a Cardinals fan, I can answer Java’s question—The Mets beat the Cards BAD! But even our local announcers talked about how nice the new Mets stadium is (though not one of them mentioned the piss troughs!).

  6. Urspo June 25, 2009 / 22:29

    having a community leak was such a manly ritual in sports. But I guess the straights worry it is too homoerotic now.

Leave a Reply

