Maddog’s Late Night…

Adam and I had a bit of a late night last night.  This was a bit of a surprise because I was supposed to work last night.

At 2:45 Saturday afternoon, I’d just gotten out of the shower and was toweling off when my phone rang.  I checked the phone and it was a 212 number that was not listed in my phone.  Normally I don’t answer if I don’t know the number but the 212 threw me off.  It’s a NYC area code, but only people who got their cell phones when they first became available have a 212 area code.  I thought all of this as I was deciding to answer the call or not.  Curiosity got the better of me and I answered.  It was a co-worker, Thomas, calling to beg me for my shift.  He was calling from the restaurant.   Seems two weeks from now he has to attend his brother’s wedding and he still needed to buy a suit, a gift, plus take the time off work to attend.  At first I said no.  All the while thinking how great it would be to not have to work on Saturday night and to be able to spend the evening with Adam.  Thomas begged.  I said no.  Thomas begged.  I said no.  Finally I said that I needed to think about it and to call back in two minutes.  I hung up and turned to get an opinion from Adam.  He was no help.  He was making it clear that he’d love for me to have the night off, but that he didn’t want me mad at him when I realized the money I’d given up on Saturday night.  

As you can guess, when Thomas called back I said what the fuck and gave him the shift.

Now I had a Saturday night free to spend with my boyfriend.  

What to do?  What to do?

We left the apartment not really knowing for sure what we were going to do.  

We ended up at our now favorite Mexican restaurant on the Lower East Side.  They have killer margaritas and the food is awesome.  It’s not too expensive and it’s kind of a dive.  We have quickly become regulars there.  So we settled in had two margaritas each and dinner.  Over dinner we chatted more about our moving options.  We are completely confused about what we should do.  Should we stay in town?  Should we move to Alaska?  What would we each do for a living if we move.  And through all of this conversation we planned our lives together.  It was very romantic.

After dinner we were on a mission to play pool.  We both love pool although neither of us is very good.  We’ve been hanging out at Stonewall a lot because it’s not too crowded, the pool is cheap and we can make out between shots.  So that was our next stop.  The bar was more crowded than usual, but not too bad when we got there.  By the time we finished our drinks and game it was far too crowded to play pool.  So we were off again.

It was around this time that we decided to just go from bar to bar and see what was up.

And thus began our bar crawl.

From Stonewall we went to Ty’s.  A casual Levi’s bar with mostly bears in attendance.  We grabbed a beer there and then we were off to The Dugout.  Which has recently become Ramrod.  It was a bust.  The music sucked.  No one was there.  So we just used the bathroom and were on our way again.  Next stop.  The Cubby Hole.  A little lesbian bar in The Village.  It was crowded with a mixed crowd and we stayed for a drink there.  After that we headed to Rawhide, which is a dark, very dark hole in the wall. We did not play pool there but we did get to watch the slightly ackward mostly naked dancer.  At one point he walked up and gave us what he called “the eye.”  As I said, slightly ackward.  From Rawhide we crossed the street to Gym.  By this point it seemed that everyone was home.  No one was about.  Which was strange for such a beautiful night in the city.  At Gym we discovered no one was there and there was a pool table in the back.  We quickly racked the balls and started our game.  Literally two minutes into the game some drunk guy plops down next to the table and announced that he wanted to play the winner.  UGH.  Now we actually had to play seriously and not  just clown around taking our time.   We finished the game and made our apologies that it was time to call it a night.  Mostly we didn’t want to play pool with someone else.  Now it was up the street to The View.  We’ve been there many times.  As I told Adam last night, it’s a perfect place to wait for someone when you have plans, because it’s never busy.  So not busy that neither of us can figure out how they stay in business.  They also have the most expensive pool, at 2 bucks a game.  We played one game had a last drink and realized it was almost 3:30.

By this time we’d been out for almost six hours, and besides being a little drunk we were starving.  We went to the diner next door scarfed down two cheeseburgers and joked about how drunk we were.  By now it’s almost 4:30 and time to start uptown.  I walked out to the street and for about 2 seconds considered taking the train.  At 4:30 in the morning it could have taken more than an hour to get home.  So I said what the fuck, hailed a cab and we were home in about 20 minutes.

It’s Sunday night now.  I’m tired.  My head is still a little woozy.  I’m far too old to have nights like last night.  I’m so woozy that I have no idea if what I’ve just written even makes sense.  I do know that we had a good time.  I love spending time with Adam.  He’s the best.

3 thoughts on “Maddog’s Late Night…

  1. karen June 8, 2009 / 18:09

    How very cool that you live in NYC, that you can move anywhere you want and you have each other. You are very lucky.

  2. javabear June 8, 2009 / 21:48

    I’m loving this romance thing you and Adam have going on.

    Are you seriously considering a move? That could be exciting.

    Yes, the post made all kinds of sense. You write well, even when you’re woozy.

  3. Donnie June 9, 2009 / 12:09

    What a nice post. I made me feel like love is out there waiting for us all. Thanks for sharing Maddog.

Leave a Reply

