A Lazy Sunday Afternoon

It’s been a wonderful day here in NYC.  It’s rainy and cloudy and if it weren’t for the green trees outside, you’d swear it was a cold November day.  Adam and I didn’t wake up till 12:30 today.  At least that’s when I woke up.  He tends to wake up early so he might not be telling the truth when he said he’d just woken up.  It took great effort to get out of bed.  It’s one of those days where lounging in bed watching TV would be just the ticket.  It was his promise of French Toast and coffee that finally got me moving.

He’s really a bad influence on me.  He likes to cook.  I like to eat.  Unfortunately, he doesn’t like to cook vegetables thus I don’t eat vegetables.  It’s not that “I” mind.  It’s my waist that minds.  Tonight we are having a “pot of beans” with homemade corn bread.  The homemade brownies are in the oven cooking now.  We have homemade dulce de leche to top them with.  Perhaps I’ll start my diet again tomorrow.

Adam has started reading my blog.  He’s started at the very beginning and is working his way forward.  It’s weird having my boyfriend read my blog posts from almost three years ago.  I was in a much different place then than I am now.  I don’t know if it’s better or worse, but it’s definitely different.   

It’s been almost four months and we’ve yet to tire of each other’s company.  We enjoy spending time together and we miss each other when we are apart.  Our different schedules build in time to be apart, although neither of us is fond of it.  We are pretending that I’m not going away for five weeks in June.  I think he believes that if we don’t talk about it, it won’t happen.  

And yes, I’m going to Oklahoma.  I spend everyday wondering why I ever said yes.  It’s been one headache after another already.  I couldn’t get paid, the scenery designer is more talented than the last two but you’d never know it by his drawings.  I’ve publicly threatened to not go, at least once, and privately I’ve been discussing it for the last two months.  I suppose it’s too late at this point.  I’ve already cashed my first check so it might not look so good if I decided to cash the check and then not show up for work.

There are lots of reasons this summer is going to be more of an adventure than the past two summers.  Most of them will just play out as they do, but the big reason is that Kelly isn’t coming back.  Kelly is our stage manager, company manager, production manager, friend, mom, etc. etc. etc. etc.  I could go on and on.  For me, Kelly is the voice of reason.  She’s also the queen of diplomacy so she keeps me from saying the things I’m thinking.  And anyone who knows me, knows that I have a tendency to speak first and think later.  This summer I’m going to be on my own.  I have the distinct feeling that “The Director” and I won’t be speaking by the end of the summer.  I suppose if that’s the case I won’t have to worry about going back next year.  

Over the next week or so, I’ll catch all of you up on what’s happened so far.  And I’ll give you are preview of the things to come.  In the meantime I think I need to go taste test the brownies.  I think I might have to try two or three to make sure they are as good as they are supposed to be.

4 thoughts on “A Lazy Sunday Afternoon

  1. Sarah May 4, 2009 / 06:44

    Oklahoma without Kelly????

  2. Peter May 4, 2009 / 13:57

    When Kelly isn’t there I think your communications with “The Director” will stop in the first week of being in Oklahoma.

    Wishing you strenght, lots of strenght, and first think before you speak. 😉

  3. javabear May 5, 2009 / 00:14

    No Kelly!?!? Oh, Maddog, that’s gonna be really tough. Who will be the stage director? Oh. Maddog. I just can’t imagine Oklahoma without Kelly.

    Can you say “it’s only five weeks” and really believe that five weeks isn’t a long time? With no Kelly?

    I miss her already. She’s such a stabilizing force.

    I’m glad Adam is reading the blog. Hi Adam.

  4. Rick May 5, 2009 / 04:35

    Glad to hear you and Adam are working out well. Four months! Good God where has the time gone?

    Oklahoma with the boyfriend at home. Absence makes the hard…I mean heart grow fonder.

Leave a Reply

