A Maddog Update.

It’s nice to be back to writing.  I’ve missed it.  Of course I hadn’t planned to be so bitchy with my first post, but what do you expect.

So what’ new with me?

Let’s see…

I have a boyfriend.  Adam.  It’s been three months.  Three months and two weeks to be exact.  I’m totally smitten.  More so than with anyone I think I’ve ever known.  I don’t have to pretend to be anyone that I’m not.  I don’t have to pretend I don’t have a past because he knows all the deep dark secrets.  And on the flip side, he’s told me just about everything.  And before anyone says, “How do I know?”  Well if there are things that are worse than the things he’s shared with me, I can’t imagine what they are.  His past is more sordid that mine and I love him all the more for it.  So I’m in this for the long haul.  And I look forward to every day we spend together.

I just got back from California.  For about three dollars I agreed to do a show in San Diego.  When I say it was three dollars, by the time I paid for my flight and car there was three hundred dollars left, which didn’t cover the cost of the food and drink I consumed while I was there.   What it did do was provide me with an excuse to go to California.  I’ve been trying to go for more than two years and finally I said fuck it, when the show was presented to me.

I knew about this about six weeks ago, so as I started the planning I talked to Adam about going with me.  After about two seconds of arm twisting he agreed.  We flew out on a Wednesday morning and spent through Sunday in LA.  While we were there, we spent a day at Disneyland which was awesome.  I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Disneyland.  Of course it would be better if there were no kids, but you just have to take the good with the bad.  We also spent a day helping Adam’s best friend plan her wedding.  He’s doing the cake and the flowers and she’s asked me to help with the lighting.  So we drove 2.5 hours north of L.A. to the vineyard they are getting married in.  It’s a beautiful area and it was great to drive through that part of the country.

We spent the rest of the weekend in San Diego, where we had the fight of all fights.  More about that later.

On Sunday, Adam flew home and I was left to design my show.  It was stressful to say the least but that’s another post.  What was really hard was being away from my boyfriend for 8 days.  I know, I know it’s silly.  But it’s fun being in love and hanging out with each other.

Let’s see.  I’ve been waiting tables more than I was, but not as much as I should.  Business is picking up again so none of us are as worried as we were.

Those are the big items.  There are lots of little things to tell you about…but you’ll  just have to stay tuned for those.

Glad everyone stopped by to comment today.  It’s nice to know you are all still out there.

2 thoughts on “A Maddog Update.

  1. Peter April 24, 2009 / 10:55

    J, just hoping you don’t take on those shitty lightning jobs as you did the last two summers. 😉

  2. Cole April 25, 2009 / 10:27

    Or take the shitty lighting jobs and get married to your new beau while in Iowa… You were missed. Great to see you blogging again!

Leave a Reply

