It’s Cold Up Here!!!!!!

I’m frozen in Maine.  It’s cold as crap here.  It’s 12 as I type this and with the wind feels like -2.  In my opinion it should never go below 30.  Ever.  And it shouldn’t even get that cold more than two or three times a year.  Of course no one left me in charge so what do I know?

Maine is good.  

Did I mention that it’s cold?  

I spent the day in the theatre.

Perhaps you’ll understand why I’m paying so much attention to the cold when I explain that there was no heat in the theatre while I was there today.  I could see my breath.  The ice in my Diet Coke froze together as one huge cube.  The performers were rehearsing in gloves and hats.  I’m shivering just thinking about it.  

The theatre is in the Parish Hall of an old church.  Unfortunately the heat is only left on in the basement where all the plumbing is. Upstairs in the theatre:  Nada.  Zip.  Nothing.  So it was cold.  We turned the heat on as soon as we got there and by the time we left we were finally able to feel our fingers.  Barely.  It was noticeably warmer.   But not warm.

Rehearsal went okay.  It was a long day, and I spent most of the afternoon in a bad mood.  I don’t know why.  I just was.  So I didn’t say much.  I just nodded and said okay a lot.  I don’t think anyone even noticed.  

Tomorrow we are rehearsing all day, and the show opens tomorrow night.  With performances Friday and Saturday.  I requested that someone go by the theatre at least an hour before rehearsal tomorrow to make sure the heat was on.  I also told them that the next time I come to do a show, the need for heat in the building will be in my contract.  It’s the least they can do.

New Year’s Eve was a low key affair.  It was me, and about 20 lesbians.  I was the only real boy there.  Although I was not the butchest one in the room.  I was actually kind of smitten with Julie.  She’s the cutest little boy.  I mean girl.  She’s actually very cute and if it weren’t for the part about her being a girl I’d totally go for her.  

It was very low key.  We ordered pizza, I sipped on bourbon and coke, sat around and chatted.  There were seven of us left at midnight.  My friend Michelle doesn’t have TV so we used the clock on the computer to know when it was midnight.  There was an announcement that it was midnight.  A toast with champagne and then everyone left.  I read for a while and was asleep by 1:00 a.m.  

I have to admit that I enjoyed myself.  I’m way too old to get all keyed up about the new year’s eve celebration.  Do we really need a reason to drink.  And as my sober friends say, “It’s a night when the amateurs come out to play.”  

Let’s hope it gets warmer tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “It’s Cold Up Here!!!!!!

  1. dirkmancuso January 2, 2009 / 00:47

    Sweet Mother of God — you are the traveling-est fella around.

    Good luck with the show.

  2. Lemuel January 2, 2009 / 06:09

    You need to stop by the Lake on your way home and I’ll build you a fire in the fireplace and warm you up. 😉

  3. Rick January 2, 2009 / 08:47

    No heat…that’s despicable. But that’s Maine…cold as a witches-tit in a tin bra.

  4. sortedlives January 2, 2009 / 08:59

    It was in the 60’s here and I was freezing. Could not imagine it being THAT cold.

Leave a Reply

