Leave a light on…

It’s quiet at home tonight.  My roommate has gone to visit family for the New Year’s holiday and I’m here by myself.  Of course at 5:04 a.m. it’s not like we’d be up talking.  That being said, however, when Chuck goes to bed he leaves a light on for me.  I’m not sure how this little custom started but I do know it’s nice to round the corner of my block and see the light on in the window.  It’s like a little welcome home light.  Tonight there was no light.  Nor will there be one tomorrow night.    And it’s not like it changed my routine tonight.  Nope, everything is the same.  Except the light wasn’t on.  I miss the light when it’s not there.

7 thoughts on “Leave a light on…

  1. Lemuel December 30, 2008 / 05:48

    One of my favorite holiday decorations is the single candle in a window. For me it is simple and it is beautiful. In addition, somehow it conveys the message “you are welcome here”. I think your roommate’s custom is quite nice and I can understand how you would miss it.

  2. Peter December 30, 2008 / 07:26

    Ever thought of a timer, just for the days Chuck isn’t home?

  3. Rick December 30, 2008 / 08:19

    That’s sweet. What a thoughtful guy.

  4. Bill December 30, 2008 / 09:33

    Chuck sounds like a sweetheart. We need more Chucks in this world.

  5. e.a.j. December 30, 2008 / 22:14

    i really, really, really don’t want to sound like a smart ass so I hesitate to say this but I can’ resist……can’t you leave the light on for yourself?

  6. urspo December 30, 2008 / 22:46

    What a lovely little post !

  7. Ultra Dave December 30, 2008 / 23:04

    Is Chuck single?

    I have little lights all over the place. I hate entering a dark house. Plus the doggie is scared of the dark!

Leave a Reply

