Ugh. Work.

Do you ever think that people are out to get you at work?  Do you ever think that you should just tell them to go fuck themselves.

That’s how I feel at work right now.

About two weeks ago I had a problem with a check.  And in the process of trying to fix the problem, Matt, we’ll call him immature manager, discovered that I don’t close out my checks throughout the night.  I wait till the end of the evening and close them out all at once.  It’s not like I’m lazy and I’m not doing it.  I’m just busy.  And our stupid computer system has the worst response time ever.  So I never feel like I have the time to do it.  So I don’t.  So Matt discovered that I don’t close out my checks.  And made a big deal about it.  And for a couple of days all the other managers thought it was funny.

And now they’ve all decided that I need to do this.

But no one is able to tell me why I need to do it.

One  manager tells me it upsets the figures at corporate about how fast we are turning tables.  I think this is bullshit because someone would have noticed this six months ago when I came back and started doing it.

One manager says it’s because if the computer crashes then we’ll lose all those checks.  Which is also bullshit because if a computer crash meant we would lose all the checks in the system than a computer crash at anytime could cause catastrophic money issues.  This is supported by my friend Daniel who has told me this is a stupid reason.

So what’s left is a “you have to do it because I said so” situation.  Which pisses me off.  It’s not a reason for a three year old.  It’s definitely not a reason for a 43 year old.  And like I said, it’s not like I’m not closing them out to be a bad employee.  I’m just busy.  So now I’m annoyed, and worried that they are going to start really making a big deal about it.  And of course my response is to just go in and ask the big guy if this is really a problem.  Of course perhaps I could just hand them the checks and let them close them.   What I’m really worried about it that they’ll say that if I’m just too busy maybe I shouldn’t work cocktails.  But that will be shooting themselves in the foot.

And so once again, I’m in a work dilemma. When do you think I’ll go back to just being a regular employee?

6 thoughts on “Ugh. Work.

  1. Lemuel December 29, 2008 / 05:53

    I never respond positively to the old “because I say so” line. I probably should not comment to such, because my stubborn Taurean/Dutch blood rises to the fore in such circumstances. To use an expression from my father, I cut off my nose to spite my face. I’ve lost more darn noses in my life!

  2. Rick December 29, 2008 / 06:43

    Too many work dilemmas for you lately. When’s your next lighting gig – to get back to the fun stuff? Besides what the hell does “closing out a check” mean…doesn’t that happen when you hand the customer the bill?

  3. Sarah December 29, 2008 / 09:49

    Whenever things don’t make sense, I think about the legal/insurance reasons. Is it possible that immediately closing out checks helps management control employee theft?

    I remember people closing out checks in chunks at all times during shifts.

  4. tyler December 30, 2008 / 00:12

    caught your blog via rick…so you live in sd now, huh? i have spent a couple of years there at the university. i have friends on del mar and i have spent time in restaurants/catering all of my life.
    working for someone else is a bummer, i know.
    have happy new year.
    do you know denison iowa?
    peace,
    tyler

  5. javabear December 30, 2008 / 02:06

    Hmmm. Probably never. I hope I’m wrong.

  6. Bill December 30, 2008 / 09:40

    Just go with the flow for awhile and see what happens. Either they’ll come around, or you will. There probably won’t be a resolution otherwise, just continued conflict. Maybe they’ll say “Hey, his plan works better” after you try theirs.

Leave a Reply

