Ugh!!!!

Tonight SUCKED!!!!

Let me repeat that.

TONIGHT SUCKED!!!!

First off, it rained like nobody’s business today.  One of those days where you order in, tip the delivery guy extra because he had to come out in the rain, and then you curl up on the couch under a huge blanket and eat your Chinese food while watching reruns of Law and Order.

Or you could go to work.

Where everyone you wait on is British.  (I only waited on four Americans all night).   At least 75% of the people you are waiting on are British.  And about 99% of those 75% are tipping less than 10%.  Which doesn’t leave much of a percentage left.  Add to that the fact that the restaurant is dead.  And there are too many people scheduled.  And what’s left, is that I made less money tonight than I have in almost a year.

Which sucks.

Of course I shouldn’t really complain.  October and November were great months.  Even with the tanking economy.  It just worries me with the business like it’s been for the past week or so that we are going to be in serious trouble come January.

The other thing that sucks is that for the past two weeks I’ve gotten shitty schedules.  I’ve mentioned this already.  So I tried to talk to my manager, the one who does the schedule, tonight but it’s like trying to heard cats.  So I finally told him that I wanted to have two minutes with him at the end of the shift and that didn’t work either.  He was feeding me this line of bullshit about not being able to talk to employees unless someone else is present.  He said that his boss told him that.  Who knows if he’s serious or not.

What’s annoying is that I can’t have a serious conversation with him.  I have no idea if he’s joking.  I have no idea why my schedule changed.  I don’t know any of this.  What I do know is that it’s pissing me off.

I don’t mind that my schedule has changed.  But if it’s going to get worse I need to know.  I budget, like all of us do, on what I expect to make each week.  It tells me how much I have to spend on bills, what’s left to play on or to put in savings.  And I’m no longer able to do that.  Because of last weeks and this weeks schedule I’ve made several hundred dollars less than I budgeted.  And once again, this is all fine but tell me it’s going to be that way.

And more than anything I’d like to know why the schedule is changing.  Did I do something wrong?  Did someone complain about my schedule being consistantly the same?  What’s the deal?  Since it’s my money and my schedule I think I deserve to know what’s going on.

And then to make matters all the worse for the day…I was asked to do a show in Maine the weekend after New Years.  I think it’s January 2 and 3.  My plan was to fly up on December 31, do the show and return on January 5.  When I was asked to do this, I went to my manager and asked if it was okay.  He told me to put the dates in his box and if it was a problem he’d let me know.  That was more than a month ago.  And today he posted the New Years Eve Day and New Years Day schedule and I’m scheduled to work on New Years Day.  Which totally fucks me, because the people in Maine are counting on me to be there, I can’t quit my job at the restaurant and my plane ticket has already been purchased which means I’ll have blown 250 bucks on a ticket that can be used.  And I’m pissed.   REALLY pissed.

So I fumed about all this all the way home.  I still don’t know why he wouldn’t talk to me at the end of the night.  I don’t know if his bullshit about not being able to talk to people one on one is for real.  I don’t know why I can’t get a straight answer out of him.  What I do know is that I’ve had enough.

I’m going to be at the restaurant at 5:00 tomorrow.  I’m going to request that he speak to me.  If he won’t meet with me, both his boss and his bosses boss will be there and I’ll request that perhaps we can all sit down and chat.  It’s my money and my livelihood that he’s joking around with.  And I think as an adult I deserve to be treated as an adult.

And now that I’m through bitching, I must go to bed.  The contractors are coming at 10:00 to fix the damage in the bathroom from the burst pipe we had last week.

7 thoughts on “Ugh!!!!

  1. javabear December 1, 2008 / 04:12

    I hope your bathroom repair looks pretty.

    Sorry that your evening was so sucky. It figures that the Brits would be out on a rainy night like tonight, when everyone else is smart enough to stay home out of the rain. No offense to the Brits, of course, but the rain is familiar to them.

    I wonder if all British are such bad tippers? Hope you make up for tonight’s shortfall later in the week. Good luck talking to the manger. Yes, Maddog, you deserve to be treated like an adult and get the information you need.

  2. sortedlives December 1, 2008 / 05:55

    Sorry to hear about your dilemma. Hopefully, the two of you can iron this out.

  3. Lemuel December 1, 2008 / 06:03

    Sending you good thoughts for that meeting with your boss(es). My take is that something’s up.

  4. Peter December 1, 2008 / 06:21

    Don’t you have a friend who works at the same place, what’s her name? If he doesn’t want to talk to you alone, take her with you, she knows your situation.

  5. urspo December 1, 2008 / 22:56

    sleep well dearie
    and don’t let them get to you!

  6. Sarah December 2, 2008 / 09:22

    Hope things worked out. Sounds like BS that a manager cannot speak with an employee privately. That sort of policy impedes effective management. What if you wanted to tell him that the other managers were stealing? Or had just learned you had a serious medical condition that you didn’t feel comfortable talking about publicly?

    It could be that your co-workers have figured out where the money station is and have whined about you always getting it.

  7. Rick December 2, 2008 / 20:09

    I hope you get to do your show. And if you do, I’d love it if you could e-mail me with the details so I can go see it.

Leave a Reply

