Good Morning…

I shouldn’t have stayed up so late last night.  Even though I set my alarm and got three phone calls I didn’t crawl out of bed until almost 3:00 p.m.  I hate when I sleep away my day off.  I feel like I waste it when I do.

I work the next five days.  I don’t like when I’m scheduled five days in a row.  It’s tough grueling hard work and it sort of beats me down.  By Sunday night I’ll be so tired that I probably won’t get out of bed Monday till 5:00 p.m.  And yes, I have to work Thanksgiving.  I’d work every holiday of the year to not be in Times Square New Year’s Eve.  And the way the restaurant works, you have to rank the holidays so that as many people as possible can be accommodated with their requests to leave the city, or see loved ones.  And since New Year’s Eve and Day are my request I have to work Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve.  I also don’t mind because I don’t really have plans for the day.  I suppose if I weren’t working I would have sought out plans, but I knew that I would be working so there you go.

The only thing that I’ll say about working on Thursday, is that last year every person was in the worst mood possible.  They were all hateful and demanding and rude.  It’s clear why people don’t like their families on holidays with the attitude I was getting.  And to make matters worse they were cheap.  Cheap.  Cheap.  I worked a double (a day shift and a night shift) and made the same amount that I make on a typical Saturday night.  It sucked.  It was also the last double that I ever worked.  And I’ve made it abundantly clear that I’ll never work a day shift, never mind a double ever again.

Guess who came to visit me tonight.  You’ll never guess.  “The Director”  Yes, the very one.  He’s flew in to NYC tonight from Oklahoma on his way upstate for the holiday.  He got to my apartment around 10:45 p.m.  And what can I say.  He was “The Director.”  Completely over the top and loud and a little bit out of his mind.  I might get my roommate to give you his opinion.  After two years of hearing me describe this man, he got the pleasure of meeting him.  He can let you all know whether I was exaggerating or not.

And that’s about it.  I have to get to bed early tonight.  Someone’s coming to fix our oven tomorrow morning.  It works, but it takes forever to heat up and you never quite know what the temperature is.  So hopefully, it will be fixed tomorrow so that we can start with our baking in preparation for our party.

6 thoughts on “Good Morning…

  1. Lemuel November 26, 2008 / 06:06

    I hope you have a good (happy) Thanksgiving day even if you do need to work, Maddog. Perhaps the reason that the TG crowd in the restaurant is so grumpy and cheap is that they have nowhere else to go. Their family and friends know exactly what kind of people they are and do not want them around their tables so you are stuck with them!

  2. Sarah November 26, 2008 / 08:20

    Lemuel beat me to the punch. After a 4th of July shift, I declared that the only people in the restaurant were assholes who would never be invited to anyone’s homes so they brought there miserableness to us. And you’re right about the cheap part.

    Sorry, you have to work on the holidays but if it’s a trade off to get out of New Year’s Eve, I’d do it, too.

  3. Java November 26, 2008 / 15:34

    “The Director” sounds like a visitor from-the-other-side. I’d be interested to hear the roommates impression of him.

    I think I’d rather work any and every other holiday if it meant I got to be away from Times Square on New Years Eve. I hope your day tomorrow is better than last year.

    And yes, I did sew costumes for our local community theater. I hope to continue doing so. It was kinda fun!!

  4. Bill November 27, 2008 / 05:59

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!!!

    Work when you must, and rest when you can.

  5. Kelly Stern November 27, 2008 / 07:42

    Even though you have to work way too much, I hope you get a chance to have a Happy Turkey Day!

  6. Rick November 27, 2008 / 09:19

    Happy Thanksgiving. Try and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

