The Return of the Queen…

Guess who’s home from Iowa.

And guess who’s extra tired.

My flight was at 6:00 a.m. this morning.  It was the only non-stop I could get back to NYC.  And I’d rather be up with the chickens than spend all day travelling.  So I haven’t been to bed since Wednesday night.  I’ve been up for about 30 hours right now.

So how was my trip?

For the most part it was fine.

For the most part.

Except for the rain.  And the rain.  And the rain.  And then the 14 degree temperatures.  And did I mention that it rained?

The show sucked.

The director is a sweet heart but it’s only the third show she’s ever directed and her inexperience shines.  She’s an academic and to my knowledge I don’t think she’s ever taken a directing course.  And you know what we do is so easy, just about anyone can do it.  All it takes is a desire to do it.  And that’s all fine and good.  It just doesn’t mean the show’s going to be good.  I’d be willing to bet I could do just about anyone’s job after reading a couple of books about it.  I just wouldn’t do it well.

So the show sucked.

And the scenery sucked.

The scenery designer who is the person who they hired over me two years ago, phoned this one in.  The scenery was okay but I don’t think it served the text at all and created a show that wasn’t the one that’s in the script.  He says it’s because he didn’t have time to get it done.   I have to wonder.

The acting was awful.  They are student actors, so you don’t expect the best.  But most of these kids have never been in a play in their entire life and it shows.  And that wouldn’t be so bad if the director knew how to get a performance out of them.  But she doesn’t.  And then of course there’s the whole issue of the coddling that goes on at this school.  NO ONE and I do mean NO ONE will reprimand a student at this school.  The students make the rules and they expect the faculty to abide by them.  One girl showed up an hour late for tech.  Which is still better than the dancer this spring who choreographed a piece and didn’t show up for his tech at all.  If they’d commit to just one activity instead of 1,205 activities they might actually be good at one of them.

The apartment I was housed in was beautiful.  It was the downstairs of an old house.  There were French doors that opened up to the living room from the entry.  And from the living room their were pocket doors that opened up into the dining room.  My bedroom was off the dining room.  I’m still not sure what the purpose of the room was originally.  It had a closet but it also had wood panelled double doors that opened up into the dining room.  Anyway it was very nice.

Except.

That it didn’t have cable.

And even worse.  Didn’t have an internet connection.

That left me very disconnected.

And then to make matters worse, the password that had been assigned to me didn’t work so I was unable to access the internet at all from my computer on campus.  Thus the shortage of posts.  I’m very grateful that the lovely and talented roommate was able to fill in and let you know what was going on.  I’m hoping that I can get him to stop by more often.  He’s a really nice guy.  And the best roommate I’ve ever had.  And I’m not saying that just because he reads this either.  Of course I’m convinced that he’s only nice because he loves the sofa.  But that’s just me.

And that’s the long and the short of Iowa.

I did go to the movies while I was there.  And I met the most annoying employee of Home Depot named Chad.  He was so annoying I actually bought 20 bucks worth of stuff that I didn’t need just to get him to shut up.

And I did keep my car the entire time.  I was supposed to turn it in the day I got there from the airport.  But instead I just kept extending the return time.  I’m hoping they don’t freak out when they get the bill since it’s a direct bill to the college.

I’m glad to be home.  I’m exhausted and I’m not looking forward to going back to work tomorrow.  But I need the money and it’s the busy season.  So if I work my ass off by the end of December I should have enough money to go on vacation in March or April.  I want to travel west.  Definitely to California but I’m torn between the southwest or the northwest.  Any suggestions.

Tune in tomorrow.  I’m sure I’ll have wonderful stories of waiting tables.

5 thoughts on “The Return of the Queen…

  1. Lemuel November 22, 2008 / 06:49

    Happy to hear you are safely home. Only rain this time?! Maddog, you’re going soft on us! 😉

  2. Mike November 22, 2008 / 10:24

    There must have been a collapsed scaffolding SOMEwhere.

  3. Peter November 22, 2008 / 15:30

    Welcome back J. something nasty can happen anywhere not just the times when you’re not in NYC… 😉

  4. javabear November 22, 2008 / 18:55

    Welcome home! I’m excited to see a post from you. Glad you’re back in the city. Sometimes when I read your trip reports I wonder why you subject yourself to these excursions.

    I think the lack of internet access would have done me in completely. No cable, no problem. As for rain and rain and rain, well, that might have sent me ’round the bend, too.

  5. urspo November 23, 2008 / 22:34

    I am glad you made it home
    Don’t go to Iowa anymore.

Leave a Reply

