Maddog Updates!

It’s late and I have to be up a little earlier than usual, so some quick Maddog updates.

I had the best night at work tonight ever.  I made more money than I’ve ever made by waiting tables.  I had fun.  My guests had fun.  I drove everyone around me crazy because I was so busy…at least my fellow servers.  Of course, they are used to me telling them to get the fuck out of my way, so it really wasn’t anything new.  If every night could be like tonight, I actually might take up waiting tables full time.  Wait, I already have.

Tomorrow (Sunday) I fly to Iowa to do a show.  I turned in the design on Wednesday and by the time I get to the theatre on Monday I will be able to start pointing the lights (focusing) where they go.  I actually don’t do the work, I just stand on stage and someone else points the light at me.  It’s a little more complicated than you think.  The show opens on November 20th so I have a little bit of time to get things right.  I’ll be flying back to NYC on the 21st.   While I’m gone I’ll be happy to keep you up to date on all the going ons.  Everytime I’ve gone to Iowa the weather has been insane.  I’ve been there twice and I’ve seen ice storms, blizzards, heat waves, tornadoes, and even an earthquake.  So I’m sure there will be much to write about.

Also be prepared for a crane to fall in NYC.  The last several times I’ve been out of the city there has been a crane disaster.  I don’t think I cause them, but don’t be surprised if it happens.

While I’m gone I’ll be sure to write some more Sam stories.  Perhaps if you are interested I’ll tell you about sex in a tree with.  Or perhaps how Sam took a class that I was teaching as a requirement.  Or perhaps I’ll share the story of the full blown affair I had.  Or maybe…you’ll just have to wait and see.

I haven’t packed yet so I have to be up early enough to drink coffee, pack, clean my room so Lydia can clean and get showered and out the door by 3:15.  Yes, I know that ‘s the middle of the afternoon.  But most of you have been asleep for five or six hours already and you won’t be up for another two or three hours.  It’s 5:03 a.m. and if I’m lucky I’ll get about six hours of sleep.  Hopefully my roommate will be home when I get up.  I’ve discovered that it’s easier to wake up when there someone around to talk to you.  During the week I often turn the coffee on, pour a cup and then sleep on the couch till it’s time to shower for work.  At least twice this week I’ve wasted an entire pot of coffee.  So like I said, I hope he’s home.

I haven’t mentioned my weight lately but I’m losing weight again.  As of today I’m down 53 pounds from my all time highest weight.  I still have 67 more to go which seems like a ton.  I have been very focused lately.  I’ve stopped ordering in food and I cook for myself which is good for the weight as well as my wallet.  I’m very careful at work to only eat salads, because it’s easy to snatch a nacho, french fry or a bit of a sundae off a coworkers plate.  Tonight they had chocolate cake left over from a party and I politely said no, and went back to work.  I probably won’t mention this again for a while but I thought I would up date you.

And although there are a million other things I could share, it’s time for bed.  I still have to read.  I’m reading a great mystery book called In the Woods.  I’m loving it but I’m at the point of the book where I want to know the answers so I tend to read later than I want to.  Last night I read three chapters and I should have turned off the light after one chapter.  Tonight I have to be firm to only read a few pages.

And that my friends is a wrap.  See you tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “Maddog Updates!

  1. Lemuel November 9, 2008 / 06:45

    Have a safe journey to and “sojourn” in Iowa!

    I am sad to say that what you are losing, I am finding. 😦 (But genuine hurrahs for you for losing!)

  2. Peter November 9, 2008 / 09:43

    J, it’s great you’re loosing weight again I’m trying hard to follow your lead.

  3. Sarah November 9, 2008 / 12:41

    A good book can really messs with your schedule. I remember coming home from a Saturday night of drinking, plopping on my bed and picking up the book (Tully) that I had purchased that day. At 6:30AM I went to sleep. I had finals that week so I wlaked over to my BFF’s apartment across the hall and told him to keep it for the next two days otherwise I’d never study.

  4. urspo November 9, 2008 / 22:00

    i’ve been away from blog-land for a few days – I am glad you are sounding well. Please be well in Iowa Land of Giants. Don’t gain any weight there with that midwest cornfed diet they push.

  5. Bill November 10, 2008 / 09:50

    Here’s a tip:
    Read boring books. I’m on the final pages of Capital Navy (about the James River Squadron during the Civil War) and it sends me into the arms of Morpheus before I get through a page.
    I’ll send it your way. I only have a few pages left. I should be finished by March.

  6. javabear November 10, 2008 / 11:03

    Congrats on the weight loss.
    Have a good time in Iowa. Goodness. Iowa. Can you get any further from NYC than Iowa?? And I ain’t talking miles, either.
    I’m thrilled you had a good night at work last night. (or the night before? I’m a bit behind)

  7. Rick November 13, 2008 / 05:31

    Looking forward to your Iowa adventures. You always seem to entertain us with something exciting. But please don’t break an ankle this time.

Leave a Reply

