Insomnia

It’s been a long two days.  Election aside it’s been two VERY long days.

It started on Monday night.  I went to bed around 1:30 a.m. which as you know is early for me.  I went to sleep almost immediately and woke up around 20 minutes later.  At 5:00 a.m. I was still awake.  I heard my roommate get up to go to work and that was at least an hour later.  I finally fell asleep, just in time for the alarm to go off.

I had to be up early for a doctor’s appointment.  I had scheduled an appointment with my psychiatrist today because I knew that I wasn’t going to be working.  I almost didn’t make it.  I snoozed the alarm untilt the absolute last minute and then jumped in the shower.  I was out the door in about 10 minutes.  I was exhausted by the time I got to the train a few minutes later.

I got to my appointment and pretended to be awake.  By this time my head was pounding and I felt like I’d been run over by a mac truck.  After the appointment I came straight home.  On the way back to my apartment I stopped to vote.  Luckily there was only two people in front of me.  It took about 10 minutes.

I came home and collapsed on the couch.  By this time I didn’t know if I was just tired or getting sick.  I felt awful.  I turned on the TV, kept all the lights off and napped on the couch.  I was still there when my roommate got home.  I’d slept some but not much.

The rest of the night I was perched in the living room watching the election results.  I kept dozing off all night.  I was wide awake at 11:00 when CNN announced the winner.  It was actually pretty awesome.  There was a timer counting backwards and it was just like New Years.  Only better.  At the exact moment the clock got to zero they annouced Obama as the winner.  For the next hour or so I was wide awake.  I watched the reports on TV, watched McCain give his speech and then sat in awe as Obama spoke.  It was a momentus night.

And then I crashed again.

I wrote my blog post and went straight to bed.

And I lay there awake, again, till the wee hours of the morning.  I don’t know what time I got to sleep.  I woke up around 9:00 and saw what time it was and went back to sleep.  I finally got up around 11:30.  Exhausted once again.  I checked my voice mail and had a message from Iowa.

I leave on Sunday to go back to Iowa to design a show.  The plans for that design were due on Wednesday morning.  I hadn’t even started putting the show into the computer when I woke up this morning.  I’d planned on sitting at my desk last night drafting while the election results came in.  I just didn’t have it in me.

So I called Erik in Iowa and told him that I was finished.  I made up a lame excuse and then got to work.  I drafted for about an hour and then started crashing again.  I headed to the couch, turned on the TV and dozed again.  That’s where I was when my roommate got home tonight.  Once he was home, I got up and got back to work.  I kind of bounced from the TV to the computer.  I finished the plot about an hour ago.  It’s 2:57 a.m.  I emailed it off and then ate dinner.

It’s time for bed now, and I’m terrified that I’m not going to sleep again tonight.  This used to happen a lot but I’ve been lucky for past several years and I haven’t had to deal with it.  There was a time when I would put off going to bed as long as possible because I knew sleep was futile.  I knew I would just lie in the bed till way up into the morning before I fell asleep.  Let’s hope that’s not the case.

I was also supposed to wait tables tonight.  I knew last night watching the election results that I was not going to work today.  I called in around 2:00 and told them I’d had a migraine and that I couldn’t come to work.  It was kind of the truth.  My head was hurting but it was from lack of sleep more than anything.

So now my plans were turned in late, I lost a ton of money and I’m nowhere close to being ready to go to Iowa.  I need to take clothes to the cleaners, I needed to grocery shop, I need to take my laundry to get done.  And I don’t plan on getting up early enough to do any of those things tomorrow.  I need to get into the shower at 2:30 so I plan on setting the alarm for 2:00.  That way if I do sleep I can sleep as long as possible.

It’s time for bed.  Wish me luck.

Sam Chapter 11 will continue tomorrow night.

3 thoughts on “Insomnia

  1. Rick November 6, 2008 / 05:59

    Sorry to hear about your insomnia. That sucks! I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night and then can’t fall back. I hate nights like that. It’s always just before I need to get up that I start to fall back. Good luck with it. Sounds like you need a regular pattern. Try going to bed early, take Tylenol PM if you need to. A good productive rest is a must.

  2. Lemuel November 6, 2008 / 06:13

    I hope that you had a restful night. Usually when I cannot sleep my mind is going a mile a minute and I cannot turn it off. I hate that.

    I am hoping for you that the cycle broke.

  3. javabear November 6, 2008 / 13:13

    I hate that feeling, not wanting to go to bed because you’re afraid you won’t sleep. Of course the anxiety of that helps to keep you awake. Which increases the anxiety. Et cetera. I hope you rested well.

Leave a Reply

