Saturday Night In The City…

It was an good night.  We were very busy.  No one complained.  I didn’t have to kill anyone.  And I made money.  So there you go.

I do have a question for you.

At the end of the night some very special people came in.  They were a little more than difficult to say the least.  They were probably in their late 20’s and acting like they were teenagers.  They seated themselves and I brought over menus for them.  They were only having drinks.  I went back a few minutes later to get their order.  There were four girls and one guy.  The guy orders a glass of wine, and the girls just sit there.  At this point I’m not even sure they speak English although they look American.  The guy is the only one who has  spoken.  They sit there and look at me, so I tell them I’ll get the wine, and they can continue to look.

So I get the wine and I go back.  Of the four girls only two of them are ready to order.  So I get their order, place it and run to the bar to get it.  I come back and place it on the table and one of the girls say’s to me:

“This isn’t what I ordered.  What I ordered comes in a martini glass.”

And I grab a menu and show her that what she ordered comes in a tall glass.

And she says, “I’m sorry that’s not what I meant to say.  I wanted the other one.”

Now here’s the question.  Do I get the girl a new drink in the glass that she wants or do I make her pay for her mistake.

I wouldn’t be nearly as concerned with this if about 20 minutes later they all order another round.  And when I get to the table one of the girls looks at me and says, “Oh.  I’m sorry.  I didn’t want one.”

Drink two down the drain.

In all I think it cost the restaurant more to serve them than they made from the drinks they ordered.

I was annoyed to say the least.  It didn’t help that it was the end of the night and I was in no mood to deal with ignorant people.

And to make matters worse they only tipped 10%.

And just a little note about karma.  If you are going to lose your cell phone in the restaurant and you expect anyone to help you find it.  Make sure that when you tipped you left more than a $1.25.  There was no motivation at all for me to go out of my way to help you.  I did all that I was expected to, but I could have been much more agressive and far more helpful if only you’d left a real tip.

3 thoughts on “Saturday Night In The City…

  1. Lemuel October 5, 2008 / 08:26

    Karma is a strange and delightful thing.

  2. Sarah October 5, 2008 / 09:42

    Did you card that girl? She doesn’t sound like she’s familiar with the workings of a bar. When a person is more concerned with the vehicle in which their drink is served than the actual drink makes me question their age.

  3. javabear October 5, 2008 / 18:34

    I’m glad the night was good enough that you didn’t have to kill anyone. When I drove the bus I’d say it was a good day if I didn’t wreck the bus or kill anyone.

Leave a Reply

