Seasons In The Sun.

I never left my apartment today.

I didn’t get out of bed till almost 4:00 p.m.

And then I moved to the couch and napped till amost 5:30 p.m.

I was out much later than I wanted to be last night.  I try not to sleep away the day on my days off.  I feel like I’ve wasted my day off.  On the days I work, I barely get out of bed before I’m off to the restaurant and when I get off at the end of the shift, I only want to come home and sleep.  So I try to take advantage of my days off.  I wasn’t very successful today.

Over the past couple of days I’ve been able to catch up on some of the blogs that I read.  I’ve been very remiss in reading over the past several weeks.  Of course I haven’t been talking to my other friends as well.  I’ve been doing a lot of isolating and I couldn’t even tell you why.  I just know that if I don’t want to end up in some sort of fucked up depressive state I’ve got to stop it.  So yesterday I spent sometime reading my favorite blogs and actually taking the time to comment.  I had dinner with my friend Jeff.  Not a big deal but it’s at least a start.  I’m going to Facebook message my friend Ryan tonight to see if he wants to do dinner on Thursday night.  It will have to be early because I want to get home and watch Saturday Night Live.  Oh wait, that’s not till Saturday, I think I meant the vice-presidential debate.  It does mean I won’t have to tape SNL Saturday, because they’ll just use Palin’s exact words again.  But I digress.  I’m going to make an exerted effort in  October to being more social.

There was excitement in our neighborhood tonight.  My roommate and I had just finished watching Boston Legal and he was getting ready for bed and I was just sitting down to check my email when there was this insane amount of shouting.  I ignored it at first because usually it’s just nothing.  But this time it continued.  So I go to the window and there are 20+ guys running toward the corner where we live.  And then they all rush into the street and start attacking a car.  They are kicking it, and beating it with a baseball bat.  And everyone is shouting.  And then they pull the door of the car open and start trying to pull the driver out of the car.

At this point I call the police.  I chat with the 911 operator.  I always (yes I’ve called before) have to insist that I live in Manhattan.  About 60 seconds in she tells me that they already have the call and that the police are on their way.  And so I go back to the window.  And the mass is getting worse.  There are guys swarming the car.  This went on for what seemed forever and at one point they managed to get a guy out of the passenger side of the car and punched him several times.  He fell to the ground and was kicked several times.  It was straight out of some Hollywood movie.  And then it was almost as if they all got bored and ran off.  Of course the police cars were still not insight.  I did see the undercover police guy that hangs out in our neighborhood.  As my roommate says he’s not very undercover if I know what he looks like.  I think maybe the term plainclothed would be a better choice of words.

And now it’s quiet again.  Of course that is helped by the rain.  It’s always a little quieter on our corner when it rains.   As it gets colder it will become increasingly quieter.  And then it all starts again in the spring.

Ah, nothing like the sound of shouting to mark the seasons.

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQe8hGmHUzo&feature=related]

5 thoughts on “Seasons In The Sun.

  1. Rick October 1, 2008 / 05:01

    Oh, that’s terrible. Must’ve been a gang fight or something.

  2. Lemuel October 1, 2008 / 05:10

    I think the SNL writers have been put on unemployment and Palin has been put on retainer.

  3. Sarah October 1, 2008 / 08:09

    Hey, thanks for stopping by.

    I would have been so freaked out if I had seen that attack. What happened to the people in the car? Did the police ever show?

  4. Chris October 1, 2008 / 11:27

    Wow, did you ever find out what caused the action? Palin’s going to keep SNL on the air if she doesn’t disappear in November…

  5. urspo October 2, 2008 / 00:11

    that sounds awful, indeed
    i would lbe upset for some time.
    i hate violence.

Leave a Reply

