I’m MadDog Tired

I’m having one of those “I’m too old for this crap” moments.  I’m exhausted.  Around 10:30 tonight I hit a wall and I didn’t think the evening was ever going to end.  The next three hours took at least two days to pass.  And of course, as I became aware of this, I started looking at my watch and the more I looked at my watch the slower time passed.  I didn’t think 1:15 was ever going to get there.  It also didn’t help that we didn’t get the usual late night pop.  Usually round 11:30/12:00 we start getting the after theatre crowd in for drinks as well as large groups of people that stop in for drinks.  On a good night I can sell almost 400 bucks in the last two hours I’m at work.  But of course, since tonight was the slowest night ever, there was no last minute rush and the time passed even more slowly.

And why am I  too old for this?

Tonight was my fourth shift in a row.  I’ve worked 36 hours in four days.  And I have a 9/10 hour day in front of me tomorrow.  When the shift started tonight I thought I was going to die.  I’m completely wiped out.  I need to sleep for about three weeks to catch up.  We actually talk about how hard shifts are at work and how hard it is to do more than three in a row.  The business is so intense and for me so busy that it’s like running a 10K race everyday for five days.  Perhaps if I were 22 or 50 pounds lighter it wouldn’t be so bad.  But I’m not, so I have to deal with the reality that if I have to work five days straight the last two are going to be rough.  Last Sunday I gave away my shift because I just couldn’t do it.  I used the excuse that my ankle was bothering me and I couldn’t work.  At least that’s what I told myself.  But my ankle has just about completely stopped hurting so I no longer have that excuse.  And if I force myself to work the next six days I’ll be able to start paying back the debt I inucurred while I was dealing with my broken ankle.  So I have to do it.  I just have to tell myself that it’s only for now and try to make the best of it.

4 thoughts on “I’m MadDog Tired

  1. Rick August 24, 2008 / 05:53

    It’s terrible when you have to force yourself like that. On the other hand, glad your ankle is doing much better.

  2. American Girl August 24, 2008 / 15:26

    Waiting tables is tough, physical work and I think a lot of people don’t get that. Glad to hear your ankle is better. I’m sure you realize that if you didn’t take the time to let it heal (and incur some nasty debt) you’d be in a far worse place right now. Your day of rest will come and you will have money in your pocket. Will send you good thoughts so you make it throught the next couple shifts.

  3. Lemuel August 24, 2008 / 19:17

    I understand you desire to pay back you debts and get free and clear, but make a reasonable plan and don’t ruin your health over it.

  4. Bill August 24, 2008 / 21:32

    I’ve heard that the best way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time.
    It probably helps to step away from the table for a break occasionally, too.

Leave a Reply

