Just go away and stop talking to me…

I fell asleep last night watching The Daily Show. I didn’t wake up till almost 12:30 a.m. I got up and went to bed. I didn’t post, I didn’t read, I’m not even sure I brushed my teeth. I slept like a log till 9:30 a.m. this morning. I got up and felt like a new man.

I had to work tonight. It started out slow but picked up pace a little as the night went on. For us, slow is only being on a 30 minute wait instead of a 90 minute wait.

For the most part the evening was uneventful. Except for one little hiccup.

I was working my favorite section tonight. Section 12. And I was busting my butt to keep my chairs filled, the customers happy, make some money and have a good time. And everything was going great until…

We have a host named Jeff who has worked at the restaurant since 1902. He worked there 10 years ago when I worked there and he’s still going strong. He knows his job like no one’s business and for the most part he’s great. Although tonight he pissed me off.

I had a party of two pay their check and leave. They were seated at the first two chairs along my counter. As they left I picked up their credit card slip, tucked it into my book and started clearing the counter. As I was doing this, there were two people perched on bar stools on the other side of the column that caps the counter. I stuck my head over and asked if they’d like me to get them drinks. The woman looked at me like I was crazy and said no. Her husband would get the drinks at the bar. That was okay with me. She was sitting in what I refer to as no man’s land. Not really my station, not really the bar. By this time the bussers have cleaned the counter and have it reset.

So I do what I do and I went off to the lobby to get people to fill my seats. I find two people and I head back in. I round the corner to discover that the two people I offered to get drinks for have gotten their drinks and are now seated at my counter. So I walk up to them and explain that I have brought two people to sit there. Now, if they’d let me wait on them in the first place none of this would have happened. And as it turned out, Jeff the host had told them to go ahead and move to the counter. Whoops. I’m trying not to be annoyed but sometimes I wish he’d just let me run my own station. So I arrived with my two people in tow and I asked the other couple to move.

And this pissed them off to no end. They didn’t yell, but at one point the man told me to stop talking to him. I apologized to them that they had to move but explained that I would be happy to get them a table anywhere they liked in the restaurant. I explained that I was willing to do whatever it took to make them happy. But it didn’t take much effort on my part to realize that these people probably were never happy. In fact they’ve probably not been happy since they were five. Once the man told me that if I really wanted to make him happy, I would go away and stop talking to him, I did.

I also made sure that both managers knew what had happened and I told Jeff the host to chill out and let me take care of my own station. Will anything come of it. Probably not, but there’s always the off chance that they’ll call in and complain. This is the reason I made sure everyone knew about the incident so that they could have stepped in to try and fix it at any point.

I try to give people the same courtesy I hope they give me. I have no idea why they were in a bad mood. So I try and forgive their crankiness. But at some point it becomes impossible to ignore and so I just say fuck it. I can only try so hard before the effort out weighs the benefit.

5 thoughts on “Just go away and stop talking to me…

  1. Peter August 6, 2008 / 03:56

    Maybe they stepped out at the wrong side of their crib at a much younger age, or they are so wealthy nothing is as good enough for them anymore.

    In your mind you say “Fuck them!” and on the outside you just smile.

  2. Lemuel August 6, 2008 / 05:01

    I know some of those same people who have not been happy since they were 5. I work with a couple of them. There is not making them happy.

    Jeff should have checked with you to make sure that the seats were free before offering them to anyone. I think you were correct in being proactive about letting people know what happened.

    My guess is that the couple will call and complain. Don’t let it get to you. Unhappy people do that.

  3. Rick August 6, 2008 / 05:42

    You did the right thing.

  4. Sarah August 6, 2008 / 07:58

    My bet is they don’t call and complain. Miserable people just like feeling miserable. If they called, they might risk someone doing something to make them happy.

  5. Aaron August 6, 2008 / 10:46

    Some people are just douchebags…conventional wisdom (at least from the nicer quadrants of my acquaintance) says that we should pray for people like that, so that they’ll find happiness.

    Frankly, I don’t care if they find their nitro spray during a heart attack, much less happiness…but then I’m a bitch that way.

Leave a Reply

