Back to the Grindstone!

Before you read further, check out this link.

Did you read it? Really.

Then you’ll know that I’m starting to be scared about the things that follow me and I cause. As someone said it’s like I’m a ship in the ocean leaving a wake of destruction behind me.

In last nights post I mentioned that there would be no more crane collapses in NYC because I’m home now and they only happen when I’m gone. And what would you know. I get up, make coffee, turn on CNN just in time to see a story about a crane collapse in Oklahoma City. My GOD I’m going to destroy the world. Who knows what’s going to happen in Kentucky this week. I flew through Texas a week ago and now they are being hammered with a hurricane. Perhaps someone can show me how to tap into this power so that I can use it for good…most of the time. There are a few people that I might want swept a way in a tornado. But you can all rest safely, it’s none of you…”The Director”, Ashley the Cunt.

I have to be up early for me tomorrow, which I hate. My roommate and I are having company this weekend so we sort of have to pick up around the apartment and make it presentable. And you know how I love cleaning. And guess what I get to do tomorrow night. Go on….guess. That’s right. I get to wait tables again tomorrow night. How much fun will that be. I can hardly wait. Actually I can hardly wait to have money in my pocket again…so maybe it won’t be so bad. I do know that everyone at the restaurant seems genuinely happy that I’m returning. I’ve never had a job where they wanted me to come back. Usually they say good riddance and are done with me. I wonder what I’ve done wrong this time. I’m sure I’ll have lots of bitching and complaining when I post tomorrow night. Waiting tables is a wonderful source of blogging subjects.

And that’s all I got. See you tomorrow night. Let’s hope I make a million dollars, or win MegaMillions or at least don’t throw a roll at someone’s head.

I went searching for a funny youtube video to include about waiting tables. The one I found is one of the funniest I’ve ever seen. I’m still laughing about it. I’m laughing so hard I can hardly stand it.

Unfortunately, YouTube isn’t playing nice so you’ll have to click on the link to see it.

Why Da Fuck I Gotta Tip?

If you read about me in the news tomorrow you’ll know she was sat in my section.

11 thoughts on “Back to the Grindstone!

  1. Rick July 25, 2008 / 04:45

    I heard about that on the news and thought about you.

  2. Peter July 25, 2008 / 04:51

    I know why they want you back, their turnover dropped* and many customers asked for their favorite waiter.

    *can also be a disaster!

  3. Lemuel July 25, 2008 / 05:32

    Given the logic of the religious right-wing-nuts, it is obvious that this AofG church in OK must have been planning a Gay Pride march (as New Orleans was just before Katrina – a la Fawell) which was the reason for the crane collapse and the man’s death. It has to be.

    As for the video, I wonder what this “woman” does for a living. As we say ’round these parts, she needs some fetchin’ up. No, lady, you could *not* afford the filet or seafood or whatever you ordered if, after paying the charge for the meal, you could not pay for the service. No, it’s not on the “paper”, but it’s been in the culture for much longer than you’ve seen the light of day – and, unless you just got off the boat, you should know that or else go back to Burger King or Taco Bell where you can afford the food and the service. Whatever you do for a living, ma’am, think of it this way – when you get your paycheck next week, the boss is only pay for your supplies. Why the fuck does he have to tip you?

  4. Mike July 25, 2008 / 06:04

    I would agree with the premise of her question, actually. Why is it that the services “industry” is permitted to pay their employees a separate and unequal minimum wage?

    Bitching about under-tipping and non-tipping customer is PERFECT for blog fodder, but confronting said customers should be grounds for dismissal.

  5. Aaron July 25, 2008 / 09:05

    People bitch and bitch and bitch about tipping…if people don’t like to tip, they should go to a fucking cafeteria and slide their tray along the metal counter. And they can bang their tin cups against the bars later…

  6. Cincy Diva July 25, 2008 / 12:46

    I thought it odd that they gave that victim’s name in the first part of the article. But the last line of the article said…”The victim’s wife’s name has not been released.” Huh? Do people not know they were married so therefore noone is going to know it’s her?

  7. javabear July 25, 2008 / 16:54

    How does your leg feel after working today? I hope it’s fine.

  8. Donnie July 26, 2008 / 09:50

    That YouTube video was crazy! How clueless can that “woman” be?? Never bite the hand that feeds you.

    I hope work wasn’t too bad.

  9. Sarah July 26, 2008 / 20:57

    Yeah, why should she have to tip? There should be a special dispensation for her. She could get some sort of card – a get out of tipping free card, if you will – and present it before ordering so the waiter can know what type of service will be required. No refills, special diet requests ignored, flatware not replaced, orders not placed in timely manner, half of order left dying in kitchen, being completely ignored…oh, there are so many ways a waiter can earn a nonexistent tip. Dining out is probably going to become a very interesting experience for this woman.

  10. Paul July 28, 2008 / 13:10

    Maddog, has anyone ever tipped you by giving you some ass? Oh, I’m sorry, she was just making a statement with those lovely cheeks.

    Too funny.

    In Oklahoma, most people know how to get out of the way of tornadoes blindfolded. But remember, they’ve got very little or no experience with cranes.

  11. urspo July 29, 2008 / 00:41

    such drama
    but not to be worrying – cranes are like plum stones – you never know when one will hit.

Leave a Reply

