Maddog’s Day Off

I had a very productive first full day back in NYC. I actually woke up at 7:30 a.m. (I added the a.m. because if you’ve been reading for more than a day you know it could just as easily have been p.m.) but decided that was too early to be awake, so I rolled over and went back to sleep. I finally got out of bed at 9:30.

By 12:15 I was downtown.

First stop. The bank. I received a very large reimbursement check from Oklahoma yesterday and it needed to go into the bank before I overdrew my account.

Second stop. The restaurant. Maybe it was my imagination, but everyone seemed genuinely glad to see me. One of the first people I saw was my manager Allan. And boy was he glad to see me. I’ve never worked at a job where the management liked me. Usually they are glad to get rid of me. He had a great big smile on his face and immediately wanted to know when he could start scheduling me again. And he was very happy when I told him next week. I’m actually going to work three shifts next week with a full day off between them. I want to make sure that I’m not pushing myself too much with the ankle. But at the same time if I don’t make some money, someone out there is going to have to let me live on the sofa because Chuck is going to kick me out. I also picked up a shift for this Friday. It’s the easiest section in the restaurant. So it should be easy to work, and not too stressful for my first shift back in four months. Of course there seems to be some discrepansy in what I have to do exactly to be allowed to come back to work. Do I need a doctor’s note? Do I just show up? Do I have to be put back into the system? And of course the person who could answer all of those questions was in a meeting with all the other managers and so I have to wait till tomorrow to find out what the answer is.

After work it was pampering time. I’ve only had my hair cut once in the last three months so it was a little long. Well long for me. I’d been trying to let it grow out so that I could at least comb it. Normally I keep it very short. At one time it was so short that the sides were cut with a straight razor. And on two occasions I shaved my head. It was fun but I wouldn’t do it again. So I went to my normal barber and got a hair cut. It’s still long for me, but it’s much shorter and much cleaner than it was. I’ll let you know tomorrow how it looks after I wash it and try to make it do something other than just sit there.

And the pampering part. I got a shave.

With a straight razor.

It was wonderful.

When I lived in New York before I got a shave on a regular basis. But I haven’t had one at all since I moved back. And I couldn’t really afford it today but it was the least I could do for myself after two long months of stress and worry. To me, it’s just as nice as a massage. First they tilt you back and rub this cucumber stuff on your face to loosen up your beard. (I broke my razor three weeks ago and haven’t shaved since, so it was pretty full. For me). Then they put a VERY hot towel on your whole face, and let it sit for a minute or so. Then it’s taken off and you get shaving cream, also warm. And then they start to shave you. It’s very gentle and soothing as they do this. Once they finish it’s time for the hot cloth again. Once that comes off they go back over your face with the razor to make sure they didn’t miss anything. And then it’s time for another hot towel. And then alcohol, which stings a little, but is very cool. And then comes the face massage. It looks like some contraption out of the 50’s. It shakes and vibrates and this is used over you entire face and shoulders. In all it probably takes about 25 or 30 minutes to be clean shaven. I could go to sleep while they do this. I felt like a new man when I got out of the chair. New York is the only place I know that still offers a shave in the barber shop. I tried to get one in San Diego but was told it was against the law. And I did the same in Iowa but was told they no longer do them. I’m sure with the close shaves most of our new razors give that most men don’t think about it. I’ve seen men get their chests buffed and shaved in this shop. I’d have to be in much better shape to do that. But if you ever get the chance to get a straight razor shave. Sit back, relax, and enjoy it. It’s much cheaper than a trip to the spa but just as wonderful.

Gillette Fusion Commercial

And that my friends was my day.

9 thoughts on “Maddog’s Day Off

  1. Peter July 23, 2008 / 01:27

    Loved the ‘commercial’

  2. DanNation July 23, 2008 / 02:46

    The description of the shave convinced me…to go beat off. Just kidding – there is a barber shop across the street from my office that still does straight shaves. It’s too bad that present paranoia about disease has eliminated the cool stuff in life. I’m getting one, too!

  3. Rick July 23, 2008 / 05:04

    I’ve never got a shave like that before. You make it sound tantalizing!

  4. Mike July 23, 2008 / 05:22

    I’m afraid of straight razors and all those who wield them. I just can’t do it. Oh, and there is at least ONE place in OrBlando that does this. The guy has an extremely thick Italian accent, though I don’t think that has anything to do with it.

  5. Lemuel July 23, 2008 / 07:36

    It’s been a long time since I’ve been in a barber shop in these parts. (I shave my own head.) But I vividly remember the kind of shaves you describe. they were common in the shops in my home town as I was growing up. Never had one though. Sounds delightful.

    Yes, go easy on the ankle. I am guessing that it is going to give you some pain for a while.

    Loved the commercial. It is a wonder that Gillette or someone has not picked up on the Sweeney Todd thing.

  6. javabear July 23, 2008 / 21:10

    Your description of the shave makes me want to go out and get one. You think your barber would shave my face?

    I wonder if the movie Sweeny Todd has done for straight razor shaves what Jaws did to swimming at the beach.

    Sounds like a wonderful day.

  7. Urspo July 25, 2008 / 00:18

    i love being shaved!
    such a pampering lovely experience
    Although seeing Sweeney Todd rather spoiled it; I always go with another.
    Nowadays my barber keeps my whiskers just so – it is better than the haircut part of the service.

  8. Frank February 14, 2009 / 17:20

    Oh it makes me want to get a straight shave. To bad I just shaved… just the face shoulder massage is almost worth it.

  9. C. K. Evans October 18, 2009 / 08:16

    I’d just like to point out that barbershop shaves are NOT against the law in San Diego. Unfortunately, a lot of barbers who do not want to give shaves will tell customers that, but it simply isn’t true in any state in the USA.

    Here are some links to webpages about barbershops in San Diego that do give shaves:

    http://www.signonsandiego.com/uniontrib/20080418/news_1mc18rbbarb.html

    http://www.leftysbarbershop.com/

    http://www.myspace.com/dapperjaysbarbershop

    http://theaceofshaves.com/

Leave a Reply

