Delta Airlines is Wonderful — Who’s counting???

There’s no place like home!!!

YouTube won’t let me inbed this tonight so you’ll just have to click on the link above, though it won’t have the same effect.

There’s no place like home.

And I love New York.

The girl who does my laundry wanted to know where I’ve been.

The guy at the Chinese restaurant remembered my order and knew my address.

I lived in San Diego for three years and no one cared if I was in the city or not.

I also love Lydia, who cleaned are apartment today.  She’s the greatest.

And I love my sofa.

And I love my apartment.

And I love Chuck.

And I love New York.

And I’m very happy to be here.

And did I mention that I love Delta.

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

I got to the airport and was running late today because I spent an extra 15 minutes with my mom.  I got the sad face which always gets to me when I leave.  But finally at 5:15 I was in the car on my way.  It’s a quick trip to the airport, but my flight was at 6:15 and I still had to return my rental car.  So by the time I got to the ticket counter it was about 5:40.  I swiped my credit card and put in my flight information and was told that I couldn’t check in, and that I needed to see a ticket agent.  I’d already heard a couple of people be told that their flights to Cincinnati were delayed and they would need to be re-routed to make their connections.  I was expecting the worst.  So the nice lady behind the counter asks for my name and flight information and says, “You are going to Richmond, Virginia?”  I told her, “No I’m flying through Richmond, but I’m going to NYC.”  And she replies, “Well would you mind flying non-stop?”  I said, “Uh, NO!!!!  I would love you if you can make that happen.”  And while she was making that happen I said to her, “I suppose I’m pushing my luck if I ask for an aisle seat.”  And she replied, “Consider it done.”

Now the only catch to this was that it was now 5:45 and my new flight left at 6:00.  So I was told to go, and hurry but that I should be fine.  So I rushed through security, thankfully there was hardly anyone in line, and ran for the gate.  As I ran I called my mom to tell her that I wouldn’t be calling her on all of my layovers.  Did I mention that it was two layovers.  Three flights.  Yes, this new itinerary was shaving off almost five hours of travel for me.  And if you ask why I scheduled it that way, it’s because the non-stop was 800 bucks, one connection was 500 bucks and two connections was 250 bucks.  And when you’ve been unemployed more or less for three months you save where you can.  So my mom was expecting me to call on each leg of my flight, so I called her to tell she wouldn’t hear from me till I got to NYC.  I also told her that I couldn’t talk and needed to go.  And she continued to talk.  And I told her I needed to go.  And she continued to talk.  And I told her I needed to go.  And she contintin….I hung up on her.

And then I called the car service that I use to get to and from that airport.  Yes I could take public transportation but it can add more than a hour to the trip and I just wanted to be home.  And I use my friend Lou’s account, so he pays…so I take advantage of it.  So I’m on the phone with the car service and they ask for my name and I give it to them.  And then they ask me to spell it so I do.  I don’t have a common last name.  Not at all.  99% of the time no one’s ever heard of it.  And it’s so unusual that most people think that I’ve made it up.  And 99% of the time I have to assure people that indeed it is my name, that it’s not made up and that it’s spelled just the way it sounds.  So I was in the middle of this conversation standing in line to get on the plane when the girl in front of me turns around and shows me her license.  Her name is Sarah __________________.  What are the odds that someone with my last name is standing in front of me getting on the airplane.  And we are both from Kentucky and we are not related.  I’d never seen her before in my life.  We were the last two to board the plane so we didn’t talk much.  But after the flight I discovered that she’s from one county over from my mom and that she lives in NYC and that she’s had people ask her if she knew me.  I thought that was pretty cool.  And although I found out all that information she was not forthcoming in any real details.

So I got home in two hours instead of seven.  And I met another person in NYC with my last name.  And I’m home in NYC.  And it’s nice to be here.

AAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

Delta Airlines is Wonderful!!!!

9 thoughts on “Delta Airlines is Wonderful — Who’s counting???

  1. urspo July 21, 2008 / 23:17

    i am glad to hear you are safe at home and feeling good!

  2. Peter July 21, 2008 / 23:47

    Welcome Home, J !

  3. Chris July 22, 2008 / 00:42

    Welcome home!

  4. Rick July 22, 2008 / 05:05

    Wow, that’s a pretty amazing story. I usually have nightmares with Delta. Maybe they’re changing their ways.

    Welcome back!

  5. Mike July 22, 2008 / 05:37

    I think it was the least they could do after the last two months or so. They are reading this blog, aren’t they? 😉

  6. sorted July 22, 2008 / 06:19

    Glad you are home. After everything you went through, I’m glad the final destination was “drama free.”

  7. Lemuel July 22, 2008 / 07:06

    That just proves that you are as famous in the city as we all thought!

    Welcome home! I’m glad that the end was so much brighter than most of your time away!

  8. Aaron July 23, 2008 / 18:33

    I’ll bet you and Sarah actually ARE related, somewhere down the ancestral line…just very distantly.

    Glad your trip home was nice and you’re getting a nice welcoming reception! You’ve certainly earned it after the last few months…

  9. javabear July 23, 2008 / 20:55

    I agree with Aaron. You probably are related to Sarah. Therefore you should not marry her and have her babies. Although the whole name change with marriage deal would be much simpler.

Leave a Reply

