American Airlines Sucks — Oklahoma — Day 55

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

Seems that when I called to change my flight to July 15th.  Someone mistakenly put it into the computer as July 16th.  So when I got to the airport at 5:45 a.m. this morning and tried to check in, the computer told me I was trying to check in too early.  So the lovely lady behind the counter ushers me down to another line where I have to wait an additional 15 minutes before she waits on me.

At which point she looks up my reservation and proceeds to tell me that I’m a day early.  I assure her that I’m not a day early.  I made the reservation for two weeks from July 1st.  And so she looked again.  And told me once again that nope, indeed the reservation was for the next day.  So I proceed to say, “So how are you going to fix this.  And trust me no one shows up at the airport at 5:45 a.m. to try and fly home a day early.”  And so she begins to look at her computer again.  Only to let me know that indeed there are openings on the flights that I’m scheduled on, but unfortunately my ticket was purchased with some sort of reward points through a travel agency and therefore I can only travel if these specific seats are available.  And what would you know…there are none of those special seats available.  Empty seats yes.  Special seats, NO.

So once again I ask her how she plans on fixing this problem.  I’m being as nice as I can while being told that I could have gotten a real night’s sleep, and that I didn’t need to be at the airport at 5:45 a.m. and that I’m going to have to find a place to stay for the evening and have since turned in my car.  And she assures me there’s nothing she can do so she gives me a number to call.

So I lug my fucking bags across the terminal to find a place to call.  And I dial the number and what would you know…it’s a number that is no longer in service or has been disconnected.  So I go back to the counter, I don’t wait this time, and tell the woman, a little less nicely, that I need a number that works.  And she gives me a new phone number.  And I make my way across the terminal and dial the number.  It takes about 10 minutes of waiting till I get to talk to someone.  And I tell her what’s happened, so she asks me to hold and now I’m listening elevator music.  And I wait.  And wait.  And wait.  And wait.  I’m not sure how many times I would have to type “and I wait” to imply that I waited for 30 minutes before she came back.  Seems the help desk wasn’t so helpful, and then they finally answered and what would you know.  There were seats available, but not the special seats.  However this nice lady tells me that I can fly stand-by if I want.  And if I do that I’ll get to Kentucky at 10:55.  P.M!!!!!  It’s 7:20 a.m. at this point.  Actually, if I got into a car and started driving at 7:20 a.m. I’d be at my mom’s house by 9:00 a.m.  I’m not sold on it actually taking longer to fly some where than it does to drive.

The other catch about flying stand by is that there are no guarantees that I’ll even get home.  Or that once I get to Dallas or Chicago there will be room for me to continue on to Kentucky.  So I say FUCK IT and I decide to stay.  Unfortunately, this presents it’s own problems.  There is no place to stay.  No way to get around.  And I have no money and all of this means additional money that I’ll have to spend that I don’t have.

So I lug (my ankle is killing me by this point) my luggage up the stairs and get to the rental car counter.  and what would you know, no one has cars.  Actually Avis is the only place with any vehicles at all.  Well one vehicle.  It’s an F1530250 BIG Fucking Pick-Up truck.  The last time I drove something this big I was moving cross country.  And because it’s the only one available, it costs a small fortune.  And I lug my luggage out to the parking lot and am on my way.

First stop.  Sleep.  I head back to the dorm we’ve been staying in, and crash.  I set my alarm for 11:30 so that I can be up and out by 12:00.  We have to officially be out of the building by noon.  So the alarm goes off and I get up to go the restroom and I open my door and what would you know…guess who’s standing there?  “The Fucking Director”.  What the fuck is he doing here?  So I think fast on my feet and tell him that my flight has been delayed till later this afternoon and that I came back to sleep.  The last thing I wanted at this point is to have to spend the night with him, or spend my evening with him.  I let Kelly in on this little story so she’ll cover for me.

So I return to my room and do the Expedia thing and find a hotel that is as cheap as I can find.  It’s not great but it’s clean there is an internet connection so I’m not complaining.  The room was actually cheaper by 30 dollars than the car was.  And now it’s several hours later.  I’m getting ready to go to bed.  I have to be up and at the airport by 5:45 a.m. tomorrow morning.  And hopefully tomorrow some of those super special seats will be available and I’ll be able to fly to Kentucky.  If not, you’ll hear me bitching this time tomorrow.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

American Airlines Sucks.

4 thoughts on “American Airlines Sucks — Oklahoma — Day 55

  1. Lemuel July 16, 2008 / 05:12

    From what I hear *ALL* airlines suck now – only this one seems to take the cake.

    I think I would have rented the car and driven to KY.

  2. Mike July 16, 2008 / 05:35

    So, uhm… how do you feel about American Airlines? 😉

  3. javabear July 17, 2008 / 22:59

    That’s some bad juju there, Maddog.

  4. Bill July 19, 2008 / 19:00

    OMG! Why was The Director there??? He’s like a bad penny! He must be the loneliest man on Earth.

Leave a Reply

