Tired and Cranky, Minnesota — Day 30

It’s late.  I’m feeling anti-social.  I have been all day.  I’m not really in a bad mood, I just don’t want to be around people.  It doesn’t happen very often but when it does I usually just hide at home.  That’s not possible in Oklahoma.  If your light is on, people will knock expecting you to answer.  So I hid tonight.  At the movies.  And wasted time.  And that’s about it.  But it allowed me to be away from everyone here and take a break from all the excitement.  And trust me when I say it’s what I needed.

Today’s was another one of those days.  In the morning, Kelly and I met with the electrics crew, and we made changes to cues that were ugly.  Tonight we ran the show for the first time with orchestra.  The lighting looks pretty good if I don’t say so myself.  There are some moments that are beautiful.  Of course because of the lack of time there are some moments that look like ass.  But what can you do.  Tomorrow we are running through the show in the afternoon, just for lighting.  Then we have a preview tomorrow night.  And open on Saturday.  Soon it will be two down, one to go.

As of today, I’m staying in Oklahoma an extra two weeks.  If you remember last year I was paid extra money to stick around till the end of the season, and the same is happening this year.  I was supposed to go to Kentucky at the end of June but the shows there fell through.  Which was a pain, because it also meant the money fell through.  But with the extra money from here, a little left in savings, and some help from some very generous friends, I’m going to be able to squeak by till August 1 when I start back at the restaurant job.   I don’t know if I’m looking forward to that or dreading it.

Kyle was at it again today.  Kelly got a talking to by “The Director” today about the morale and attitude of the cast and crew.  Seems the lovely Kyle thought it would be a good idea to go to “The Director” and tell him everyone hated him, they weren’t coming back next year, and that they all thought the season sucked.  I’ll be the first to admit there have been problems this year.  And I also know that a lot of them could have been prevented or at least dealt with by “The Director”.  But there is no reason to be mean to him.  Especially during tech.  It only makes the process worse and Kyle doesn’t have to deal with the fallout, Kelly and I do.  We assured “The Director” that all was well and that it was just Kyle being Kyle.  I can only hope that he believes it.

And I think that’s a wrap.  No long story tonight.

Have a great weekend everyone.

7 thoughts on “Tired and Cranky, Minnesota — Day 30

  1. Lemuel June 20, 2008 / 05:09

    We all need breaks.

  2. Bill June 20, 2008 / 07:34

    I’m glad you got an extension on your current project, as long as you can bear the mental strain. Just keep reminding yourself that there is an end date!

    Note to The Director: Morale problems are always the fault of the leader.

    Note to Kyle: When you are an attention-grabber, you have to take the bad with the good.

  3. Sarah June 20, 2008 / 11:24

    You gotta have your down time. Glad to hear you’re getting some extra funds. Hard to believe that in about a month you’ll be back to complaining about Canadian tipping habits.

  4. Peter June 20, 2008 / 12:07

    What you do for some cash is remarkable, I wish you two remarkable weeks.

    And for Kyle… break a leg! [as they say in and out of the theater]

  5. Sarah June 20, 2008 / 16:12

    Okay, why on Earth, under “Possibly related posts” would something called, “Boobies, boobies, boobies. Nothing but boobies…” be even vaguely connected to a gay man’s blog?

  6. zeph June 20, 2008 / 18:42

    Meh. Sounds like the director could use a clue-bat upside the head. Be polite when you tell granny that her dress looks like a cheap tent but, for God’s sake, don’t compliment her on her fashion sense. You’re not doing anyone a favor, there.

  7. "Joe" June 20, 2008 / 21:29

    With the cast, the crew, the director, and the weather, who wouldn’t want to stay?

    Kyle? Set his hair on fire.

Leave a Reply

