Loco, OK — Day 18

I’ve got nothing tonight.  And I mean nothing!  I slept late.  I went to the theatre.  I went to the movies.  I had bourbon with “The Director” who was VERY needy tonight.  I went to IHOP with “The Director” and Kelly.  I just got home.  It’s 3:07 a.m. and I have to be up around 10:00 a.m. which is early for me.

One of the things I’ve been doing is re-reading the posts I wrote on my OK journey last year.  I read the post that corresponds to the day of the month I’m on.  For example tonight I read June 6 and 7th’s post.  Since I’ve got nothing.  I thought I’d share with you an excerpt from a year ago tonight, and a year ago tomorrow.  Does anyone sense a common theme?

June 6, 2007

Today was only a 17 hour day.  I just got out of a meeting to figure out how to rescue the scenery design.  The director thinks it looks like a high school play and is ready to fire the designer.  I wish he’d fired him six weeks ago.  It would have made my life a lot easier.  Instead, I just have to deal with the aftermath.  Today they changed where all the scenery hangs.  Which means I need to change where all the lighting that lights the scenery hangs.  Ugh.  I think my crew is ready to kill me.  But then again they know it’s not my fault so maybe they’ll get over it.

I’ll keep you posted as things play out over the next couple of days.

June 7, 2007

And right now it’s a disaster.  Mostly because of the scenery.

To be honest with you it’s ugly.  I thought it was ugly from the beginning.  At least what I could see.  If you remember the designer was a little slow in getting me what I needed.  So the scenery is so ugly the director has now cut ALL of the ACT 1, SCENE 1 scenery.  It’s gone.  POOF!  What he hasn’t decided is what’s going to replace it.  I’m anxious to find out because it will definitely affect me.  The technical director is also anxious to find out since he’s going to have to build the replacement scenery.  All we know now is that the director hates it, the scenery designer is pissed and no one wants to do anything about it.  And it all rounds out to making more work for the rest of the crew.  YIPPEE!!!!  Oh and we open on Friday

And I ask myself, “Why am I back here?  What was I thinking”  I just want it on the record that a year from now when I mention that I’m going to OK for the summer please tell me I’m fucking crazy and need to collect cans from the side of the road, before I come to OK to work.

Please.

Loco, OK  — population 150 at the 2000 census.  Population 152 now that Kelly and I have moved in.  Unfortunately, the people who should live here, live in “State of Denial”, Nebraska.

, Nebraska.

Does anyone know how to change the font size on WordPress?

5 thoughts on “Loco, OK — Day 18

  1. zephyraardvark June 7, 2008 / 04:07

    It doesn’t look as though WordPress supports font changes directly. You could probably switch the entry mode to HTML, though, and put in your own font tags.

  2. Sarah June 7, 2008 / 08:39

    Sorry, I wasn’t reading a year ago. I’d have reminded you.

  3. urspo June 7, 2008 / 17:57

    i don’t know how to change the font
    I remember your journey to the Land of the Tornados.
    Bourbon? I haven’t had such in years. I remember it was rather nice.

  4. Donnie June 7, 2008 / 23:34

    Oh my goodness……when I was catching up on my blogroll, I was shocked to see that you had somehow been erased. I frantically re-added you and now am catching up. Please forgive me, Maddog! *pleads on bended knees*

  5. Bill June 8, 2008 / 11:05

    Hmmm, that’s very interesting that you had similar problems last year in OK, and thought it unwise to return. And yet, there you are. We need to do something proactive about this next year.

Leave a Reply

