Funkytown, Mississippi — Day 14

I’m in a funk today.  I’ve been in a bad mood all day.  I didn’t sleep well this morning.  I say this morning because I didn’t even turn the light off to go to sleep until almost 7:00 a.m.  I was up most of the night working on the lighting design for the shows I’m designing.  I’m taking suggestions as to what we can call the summer shows from hell.  Anyone have any ideas?

Just before I went to bed I emailed off the list of things I need for the show to the theatre staff at the union house that we perform in.  I haven’t heard anything from them.  I have this feeling it’s because they had today off.  Most theatres take Mondays off.  I’ll keep you posted on what their response is.  I hope it’s not so bad because just as I was going to bed I realized that I hadn’t included 32 lights that were on another sheet of paper.  Whoops.

I finally got out of bed today at 3:30 p.m. when the stage manager came down to see if I still wanted to go see Sex and the City.  Unfortunately the movie started at 4:30 and that didn’t leave time for showering.  So I jumped out of bed got dressed and about 20 minutes later we left.  I thought the movie was great.  It won’t change your life and a lot of it is fluff, but if you liked the show you will definitely like the movie.  I won’t spoil it for anyone  if you haven’t seen it, but I did tear up a couple of times.  It was a sappy moment, but I was touched by it.  It was the perfect way to spend the afternoon.

And yet I’m still in a bad mood.  I haven’t been motivated to do anything today.  In fact what I probably should have done was go to bed two hours ago so that I could get up early and get some work done.  But instead it’s 1:00 a.m. and I’m wide awake, watching TV and wasting time.

Luckily there’s not much to report on the theatre front today.  Except for the crew today was a day of rest and so there wasn’t much happening.  What that means is tomorrow will probably be twice as bad to make up for the lack of drama today.  I can hardly wait.

4 thoughts on “Funkytown, Mississippi — Day 14

  1. Lemuel June 3, 2008 / 07:10

    Some days you eat the bear and some days the bear eats you. I hope your out of your funk and in rare form to take on the circus today!

  2. Sarah June 3, 2008 / 09:56

    The best part of Sex And The City – The Movie was all the gratuitous (sp?) fashion! I laughed, I cried, I loved it.

  3. urspo June 4, 2008 / 00:37

    sorry for the funk
    I suggest eating some startches
    when in doubt get horizontal.

  4. Donnie June 7, 2008 / 23:57

    I loved SATC too. I went to see it Wednesday night with a group of gays. We had the theater to ourselves….so we acted up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

