Day 7 — Tornado, WV

I slept late today, which is not surprising since I didn’t get to bed until almost 7:00 a.m.  The late nights have to stop if I’m ever going to get any work accomplished.  I also don’t like sleeping my whole day away.  It was almost 4:00 p.m. when I woke up and by then it was too late to do anything constructive during the day light hours.

I did go the movies tonight.  I saw Made of Honor.  My roommate said that I was out of my mind to have seen this movie.  I, however, think it was the perfect way to spend the early part of the evening.  It was mindless entertainment.  It required no thinking.  No thought at all.  It was light and airy and after the week that I’ve had it was nice to just sit back, eat my popcorn and lose myself in the cuteness that is Patrick Dempsey.

Right now I’m waiting to meet with the Technical Director whose in charge of the building the set and Kelly the stage manager.  We have to figure out some things concerning the set.  We also have a list of things to talk to the TD about that were mentioned to us last night by the director.  The director gets very bogged down in the little stuff and loses sight of the big stuff.  I’d like to tell him that no one cares what the birds are going to look like when the rest of the set doesn’t exist.  I’d also like to tell him that he needs to be a little more open to the realization that we don’t have three months to make these decisions.  We have about 30 minutes.  And I got more than a little pissed off today when he complained about having to meet on his day off to figure these things out.  It’s my fucking day off to, and I’m not even the set designer.  I’m the lighting designer and I’m not getting paid extra to figure all of this shit out.  That’s what I’d like to tell him.

At the moment we are having a more violent storm than we did last night.  It’s raining like nobodies business and the thunder is shaking the walls.  We have tornado watches out and the weather is supposed to only get worse as the night progresses.  The storm we are experiencing right now is supposed to be moving out of the area in the next 30 minutes or so, but there is a much worse storm behind it that should be here in about two hours.  Ah, the beauty of living in the Land of Tornadoes.

Since the weather is bad, I’ve decided to stay put in Tornado, West Virginia tonight.  If things are clear tomorrow I’ll be happy to move on.

Not much else to report today.

3 thoughts on “Day 7 — Tornado, WV

  1. Lemuel May 27, 2008 / 05:09

    I hope you are safe from the tornadoes. [really]

  2. urspo May 27, 2008 / 09:40

    i just hope you have a lot more storms! Such entertainment from nature is not to be missed.

  3. Bill May 28, 2008 / 20:22

    I think you should tell the director exactly what you think. Then blame it on Tourette’s.

    I hate it when my sleep schedule gets out of wack. And it happens all the time.

Leave a Reply

