Making My Mark on the World — Day 6

I’m about to go to bed.  It’s 6:11 as I type this.  I’ve spent the evening in Loretto, Kentucky.  Loretto is best known as the home to Maker’s Mark.  As someone who grew up in Kentucky, you learn from a very early age that bourbon is part of your heritage.  Bourbon, thoroughbreds, and tobacco.  I don’t smoke, so that’s not really me.  I love the horse races, but it’s a different beast when you live in New York.  In Kentucky it’s a gentlemen’s sport.  In NYC it’s for the masses.  I spoken to my friends often about the difference between see horses race at Keeneland, versus anywhere else.

In Kentucky when you go the races you are expected to dress nicely.  You sip on mint juleps and enjoy the day.  It’s an air of civility.  That’s not the case when you travel outside the state.

So I spent the night in Loretto, enjoying their drink of choice.  Maker’s Mark. Usually I drink beer, but over the past couple of years I’ve learned to drink bourbon and I have to admit that it’s quite tasty.  Actually, I learned to drink it in graduate school.  When I was growing up, there was always bourbon in the house.  There were bourbon balls at Christmas and hot totties, if you were feeling ill.  And I hated it.  However, when I was in grad school, I lost my voice just as I was starting tech for a show.  Tech for a lighting designer is the most stressful, fun part of the experience.  You spend all day on headset, talking to your board op, telling them what to do.  Not having a voice in just unacceptable.  So a friend suggested I sip on bourbon.  It coated my throat and got me through the two weeks of tech.  And during that two week period I learned to like it.  And now every once in a while I get the hankering for some bourbon and tonight was that night.  And I have to admit it was tasty.  And since Maker’s Mark is made in Loretto, Kentucky, I thought I would spend the night there.

As I type this the most wonderful thunderstorm is going on outside.  The rain is pounding at the window and the window is being lit up by lighting.  Every so often the walls are shaken by thunder as it roars through the night sky.  It’s the first thunderstorm I’ve experienced in a long time and it’s great.  If and when I finally get to bed, it will be great sleeping weather

And with that I think it’s time for bed.  I have many things to share with you, but I think they’ll wait till tomorrow.

Hope everyone has a great Memorial Day.

2 thoughts on “Making My Mark on the World — Day 6

  1. Bill May 26, 2008 / 13:55

    Sleep well, bourbon-laced prince.

  2. Daniel May 27, 2008 / 00:56

    Bourbon and thunderstorms…There’s a recipe for sweet dreams.
    Can you hear the rain drops on the roof?

Leave a Reply

