Can you hear me now???

So I was all prepared to try and do a positive post tonight.  It’s become more and more apparent to me that I’m in a bad mood.  As my roommate says…I’m cranky.  Which is understandable since I’ve been on crutches for the past 10 days and it’s driving me crazy.  I hate being waited on.  I hate having to ask for help.  It would be different if I were sitting by the pool, with palm trees overhead and Christopher Meloni was fetching me drinks with umbrellas in them from the poolside bar.  But that’s not the case.  It’s me, on the couch, with my foot propped up, watching television or as I did today, talking on the phone.

Which brings me to tonight’s post.

My cell phone just died.

I was talking to my friend Tom and I suddenly had a high pitched buzzing in my ear.  I should point out that my phone has done that ever since I got it.  If I lose the call or if I’m not on a call it buzzes ever so lightly in my ear.  I’ve joked with a couple of people that I’m getting brain cancer even as we speak.  So tonight I was talking, I got the buzz, looked to make sure that I had lost the call and the screen was blank.  So I assumed that it was just dead from talking too long because I’ve been on the phone all day.  So I plugged it in.  Nothing.   So I took out the battery, put it back in…nothing.  It won’t do anything but the phone still has power because all it has is a red verizon wireless logo on the screen.

So I’m going to  charge it till tomorrow.  And then I’m going to see if it works then.  If it doesn’t then I’m going to have to head downtown tomorrow to get a new phone.  I could probably wait a few days if I weren’t broken.  But it gets sort of lonely here and without the phone I would be completely on my own.  Just like in the old days.  And of course I don’t have the money for this, and of course it’s a pain in the butt because it takes 60 bucks round trip in a car to get downtown.  And more than anything it annoys me.

Fuck

Fuck.

Fuck!

FUCK!

FUCK!

FUCK!

4 thoughts on “Can you hear me now???

  1. Bill May 4, 2008 / 07:17

    Gosh, I wonder what today will bring? Maybe a weird convergence of pressurized water will cause your toilet to blow through the ceiling.

    Since you’re stripped down to a sofa and a TV, have you seen Elling? It’s a charming Norwegian film about two lunatics. The lighting in the film is stellar. Okay, maybe not, but I thought that would pique your interest. You have to be okay with subtitles, though.

    If your lips move when you read subtitles, are they really moving if no one is there to see?

    There you go again, taunting me with Christopher Meloni. Bitch. He lives near you. You should invite him over.

  2. Sarah May 4, 2008 / 09:37

    Do you think one of those students put a whammy on you for daring to suggest they arrive at the theatre on time? Maybe you should burn some sage or get an exorcist.

    Here’s my foreign movie rental suggestion: OSS-117: Nest of Spies. It’s a French spoof of James Bond. It’s terribly silly.

  3. Lemuel May 4, 2008 / 13:44

    Do you at least qualify for one of the free phones? It may not have all the latest bells a whistles, but maybe it would get you through the night.

  4. urspo May 5, 2008 / 22:28

    dear me
    i go away for a weekend and all hell breaks loose again.
    I think I would rejoice if my cell phone busted, the notion I am not instantaneously on call for everyone sounds well.
    But i am sorry for your inconvience.
    my i suggest 2 dixie cups and some string? I still think it is the way to go.

Leave a Reply

