Day 13 In The Land of Corn…Day 3 of Tech

This one’s going to be short boys and girls.  It’s 3:00 a.m. and I’m beat.  I’ve spent the last four hours transposing my awful handwritten notes on where sound and light cues are called into Word.  It’s taken me forever and I have about a million things to check when I get to school because I can no longer remember when they are supposed to be called.  (Whoops)  I figure the worst thing that will happen is that I will call them in the wrong place and someone will yell at me.  Of course it is rehearsal so some mistakes are allowed.

I slept late today and then headed to school.  I needed to clean up some cuing for the piece we were running tonight.  I got about half through that when Kathleen showed up to run her solo piece.  And so we went into that.  I promise to show pictures of this piece when I get it.  The piece is about modern architecture and how we live in a world where we are on display.  The piece contains both text and modern dance and is great.  It’s my favorite piece in the show and it’s the one I’ve been most inspired by.  Therefore it’s the one I’ve worked the hardest on.  In fact, I called a friend of mine to discuss my lighting ideas to see if he thought it would work.  He helped me figure out how to do it and I put it into my plot.  It’s been the biggest pain in the ass to focus, but when it was all said and done my little trick looked great.  And of course as it turns out it’s the most difficult to call.  So to recap, it’s my favorite, I’m most proud of this one, and I’m convinced I’m going to fuck it up when we get to performance.  I’ve yet to call it correctly.  But practice makes perfect as they say.

After rehearsal, I went to dinner with Kim.  I bought her dinner last week and she had decided to return the favor.  As previously said, Kim is a character.  She’s about 47 years old.  And she’s somewhat overweight.  But you would never know it by the way she dresses.  She’s actually said she’s gained all her weight since her father died in March.   Which is understandable.  I’m the first to know what it’s like to deal with your feelings with food.  But I also know when it’s time to buy new clothes that fit.  Everything she wears is skin tight.  And grips all of her rolls.  And accents that her tits are now down around her waist.  I was sitting at dinner tonight wondering if anyone has ever mentioned to her that it was time to stop wearing tight clothes.  But far be it for me to tell her.

After dinner, it was back to school to start tech.  It went okay.  It was the first show I cued this week and so it was the one that needed the most work.  As you cue you discover what the lights in the air can do.  So it gets easier to do and faster.  You also begin to get a feel for what you really want the shows to look like.  So you have less to clean up when you are finished.  When you are doing a play the first 10 cues take the longest to write and the second act takes about half the time that the first act did.

And now it’s very early in the a.m. and I am going to bed.

3 thoughts on “Day 13 In The Land of Corn…Day 3 of Tech

  1. Lemuel April 23, 2008 / 06:52

    Perhaps I do not dress “appropriately” for my age and weight in some persons’ views, so perhaps I should not comment, but I am often saddened when I see people (usually women) who wear skin tight clothes and should not. I know how depressing it can be to admit to yourself that you need to select a bigger size and that you cannot fit into the [whatever] that you found in the store and really liked. But friends and Mouseketeers, we need to admit it and move on.

  2. rashmi April 23, 2008 / 07:55

    All the best!!
    🙂

  3. Bill April 23, 2008 / 20:50

    Hello from Virginia. I came over from Lemuel’s blog.

    I’ve read several of your Iowa posts, and I’m enjoying them. I like the excellence and work ethic you bring to your profession. Theater techies are truly the unsung heroes in live performances. No one really gives a thought to what goes on to make a show work. I was a theater major in college (back when we still used flaming torches for lighting), and I switched from acting to technical/design. Long, long hours before and after the actors came and went.

    My mom was from Iowa, and I still have family there. I haven’t figured out yet where you are there, but my cousins live in the middle of Roadkill, Iowa, in Grundy County.

Leave a Reply

