Day 8 In The Land of Corn

No fire alarms today.  At least not in the literal sense of the word.

So starts today’s saga.

First I’d like to know how many people actually knew what I was talking about in the third paragraph of my post yesterday.  Not one person mentioned it.  I was hoping someone would actually comment on the Greek that I was speaking.  Of course it might be that you were so overwhelmed by the humor of the fire alarm that you could think of nothing else.  Or you just not be interested in what I do for a living, therefore I’m boring you and you’ve probably already clicked over to another blog.  Taking my readership from four to three.  😦

So the real saga.

I forgot to mention that the stage manager was fired yesterday.  Well she was relieved of her duties.  When it was all said and done I don’t even think they were that harsh with her.  They basically told her that they felt that she would be better off if she spent more time on her studies and less time on the show.  Of course I should mention that she was spending no time on the show so who the fuck knows what she’s really up to.  At the meeting where it was decided that we needed to replace her, her professor and another professor in the room began to discuss what they could assign her so that she could still pass the class.  I interrupted after about three seconds and said, “I think you should flunk her.  She was given clear expectations and she failed to meet them.  Not only did she not meet them but she failed to let anyone know about her lack of follow through and therefore caused trauma with the whole production.”  They looked at me like I was smoking crack.  Until the tech director piped up and echoed the same things I said.  He made it clear that he felt that passing her would be a mistake.  She needed to learn that there were consequences to her actions.  Who knows what they finally decided.

During the meeting we discussed who would replace the lousy stage manager.  We came up with three names and “gay” new design teacher said he would contact them.  If the first one said no, he would go on to the second.  If the second one said no he would go on to the third one.  If the third one said no…”We were fucked.”

And so we left the meeting.

And so today started.  I only got about five hours sleep last night, so if anyone’s counting that’s eight hours in two days.  I need eight a night.  I’m eight hours behind.  My day started as it always does.  Got up, showered, had coffee, put my shoes on, left, walked to Kum & Go, got Diet Coke, walked to school and started work.  I was exhausted before I go there.  The day was spent focusing and fixing the few things that were still on the list.  For the most part the day went well.  We got a lot done and we are almost at a point where I can start cueing.

The afternoon was going along fine until the TD came back from the faculty meeting.  I have no idea what they discussed, but he was looking grim.  So I asked him how it went and he said fine.  I then asked him if he’d heard from the first stage manager we asked.

He said, “She said no.”

“Number two?”

“She said no”

“Number three”

“No”

“And?”

“I want to talk to you about that.  Would you be willing to stick around next weekend and call the show?

WHAT THE FUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let me repeat that.

FUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And what could I say?  If I don’t do it who will?  When it’s all said and done, I’ll know the dances better than anyone else.  I’ll know where most of the cues because I’ll have written them.  And there’s nothing worse for a designer than having your cues called wrong.  And so I said, “Well?”

And the TD said, “We’ve already discussed it.  We’ll pay to change your ticket.  We’ll pay you more money.  And we’ll love you forever.”

So I said, “UUUUUUHHHHHHHHHHHHHH………………………………………………………………………………………….

………………………………………………………….okay.”

So what the fuck have I gotten myself into?  I’m nervous already and tech hasn’t even started yet.  I’m going to have an ulcer and a nervous breakdown by April 28th when I head home.  If you tune in on the 29th and everything is written in some indecipherable language don’t be surprised.

The rest of the day went just as planned.  I worked the rest of the afternoon.  I watched the rehearsals of three of the five dance pieces.  Called my mother.  Went to the store for beer.  Came home and ate the dinner that was provided for me.  Wrote a post.

Went to bed.  Had horrible nightmares about calling the show.

Ugh.

More on what a stage manager really has to do later.

6 thoughts on “Day 8 In The Land of Corn

  1. Rick April 17, 2008 / 04:56

    Congrats on the new opportunity. You’ll be great!

    And oh yeah, I got a little lost on paragraph 3 yesterday. Light tech speak, glossed it over.

  2. Lemuel April 17, 2008 / 05:11

    Well, now I know why you are collecting signatures to run for city council. 😉 LOL!

    You and the tech director are absolutely correct. As one who taught in a community college, I caught grief for flunking students who did not “perform”. In one infamous episode, I had a student tell me indignantly that she had never received an F before. I told her, “Well, you do now.” She even threatened to sue me (let from her lawyer) until I cited chapter and verse to the college ombudsman, who verified that yes, she had indeed “earned” her F.

  3. Mike April 17, 2008 / 06:02

    Much like when TheHusband spouts off similar words as listed in paragraph three of yesterdays post, my eyes were glazed over hoping (against hope) that it would soon be over and I would be once again be permitted to resume whatever I was doing before my eyes/ears/brain was assaulted by such things.

    It worked just as well then as it does here at the house.

    And, congrats – I think!

  4. Sarah April 17, 2008 / 08:20

    Did you get assurance that the AWOL stage manager would receive an F? I think your participation should be contingent on that.

  5. Donnie April 18, 2008 / 09:23

    I hope things go well with the “promotion”. I feel for you Maddog, because I’m also one of those people who can never say no when it comes to work.

  6. dirkmancuso April 26, 2008 / 14:18

    Good for you for speaking up and suggesting that someone who doesn’t do their work get called on it!
    Everyone these days just gets a walk when they fail to perform and someone else is expected to just pick up the slack.

    Congrats on the expanded role — if you really wanted it.

Leave a Reply

