Day 7 In The Land of Corn…or Day 2 of Fire Alarms.

I’m sleepy. I mean really sleepy. So sleepy that I didn’t go to rehearsal tonight. So sleepy that I don’t think I’m going to stay awake for the chicken that has just been put in the oven. So sleepy that I can’t stop yawning. So sleepy that I almost fell asleep during a production meeting today. So sleepy that my head hurts. So sleepy.

I went to bed right after I published my post last night. And at 3:15 I was still awake. That was the last time I looked at the clock. Sometime after that I was able to finally go to sleep. And the alarm went off at 6:30 this morning. If you do the math, that’s only 3.5 hours of sleep. I actually finally climbed out of bed at 7:00 but the last 30 minutes was the snooze the alarm every 9 minutes sleep. I’ve been in a daze all day.

I got to theatre after my morning jaunt to Kum & Go. This morning I bought 10 Diet Cokes. I needed the caffeine. And then it was off to the theatre. We essentially spent the day taking care of changes. I swapped out 35 Source 4, 26 degrees with PAR 64 MFL’S. I then moved 10 Source 4’s to new locations. I added 2 new Source 4’s. One with an iris. I added gobos to about 35 lights. And then fixed the patch on at least 25 lights. I also focused 6 Shakespeare’s and used the RFU to figure out things for my magic sheet. I also helped bring in truss #3 and truss #4 to add the scrollers and heat shield. The scrollers needed DMX cable so that took some time. I almost forgot that I added an additional Source 4 36 degree on a sidearm. I ordered a whole crap load of gel. And two additional gobos. I put the hazer on the list to do for tomorrow. I changed 2 lamps. Oh, and I got paid. After all that work I deserved it. Actually I didn’t do any of this work. I stood arou

I interrupt this post to let you know that the fire alarm has just gone off again. For no apparent reason. We were all sitting in the kitchen talking and now the industrial alarm is pounding in my ears and the strobe light is flashing. At this point, I’m just giggling. I guess we’ll have to wait for “fatty” as the tech director calls him to come turn it off. I just went to call security so they knew not to actually call the fire department. This is getting to be funny. Let’s recap. Tornadoes. Snow. Fire Alarm. Burnt Dinner. Fire Alarm. Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

So anyway, I stood around and told others what to do. Actually I gave them a list and they did it. It’s kind of fun to be the boss. (My head is starting to hurt from the noise.) I have a great crew and they actually did the work very quickly and for the most part efficiently.

Interrupting again. Security just got here. He’s shut off the alarm and is now being chatty. I would just like him to go away. Like right now. Immediately. NOW!!! SHUT UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AND HE’S LEAVING. THANK GOD!!!!

So I stood around telling them what to do and waiting for them to do it.

Tomorrow we continue focusing and then tomorrow night I start programing.

And this time next week, I’ll be in the home stretch and ready to go home.

On a different note, I grabbed a beer with the new design teacher who was hired instead of me last year. Turns out he’s not very experienced. We spent the entire dinner talking about why being in Iowa is not fun. We compared notes on the college. He actually bitched more than I would have thought. But I think the job is starting to get to him. I told him that I love coming here to design but I thank god every day that I didn’t get the job. The one curious thing is that he turned the conversation to dating. And then he talked about how hard it would be to date someone here. His exact words. Someone. Someone. Not her. Not him. He did this a number of times. So I still don’t know if he’s gay or not. I’ll keep you posted on this.

To remind you, I’m sleepy. So no spell check, no proofing. Read with forgiveness.

5 thoughts on “Day 7 In The Land of Corn…or Day 2 of Fire Alarms.

  1. urspo April 16, 2008 / 00:50

    lay off 10 cokes; it is bad for the complexion

  2. Rick April 16, 2008 / 04:09

    Caffeine. What would we do without it?

    On another note, what’s up with all the fire alarms? Good God and baby Jesus!

  3. Lemuel April 16, 2008 / 06:50

    Forgiveness granted in spades.

    Man, what adventures! I am guessing that the fire alarm is similar to what we have at work. If so, I can even imagine typing or having a coherent thought while those strobes flash and your ears are tortured to the point of confessing *anything*.

    Interesting dating conversation. hmm…..

  4. Sarah April 16, 2008 / 08:35

    I think the security guy is lonely and has rigged the alarm to keep going off so he can come and visit you.

  5. Donnie April 16, 2008 / 12:32

    I’ve figured it all out Maddog. It’s all a plan to “Gaslight” you….the alarms, the weather, the ambiguous Design Teacher. GET OUT OF THERE!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

