I Need Sleep

I’m almost afraid to go to bed tonight.  I’m afraid that I won’t be able to sleep and it will be another tossing and turning night.

I also learned a very valuable lesson tonight.  I CAN’T go to work if I haven’t gotten at least somewhat of a decent nights sleep.  Tonight was miserable.  I was in a bad mood before I got there.  I was exhausted.  I felt like shit.  The first thing I did when I got there was put my name of the give-up list.  But as you can probably already guess that didn’t happen and I had to work.  I did switch to an easy section because I knew that I didn’t have the energy to run around all night.  Basically, I waited on my four tables and then went and stood in the corner waiting for it to be time to go home.  Everyone I came in contact with tonight knew to steer clear of me.  I wasn’t bitchy, I just didn’t feel good.  I do have to admit that I was short with my tables tonight.  I had no time for their bullshit.  I would just grunt and walk away.  I kept having to tell myself that getting fired because you are tired is not a good thing to have happen.

Finally the night ended and I got to come home.  I made less money tonight than I have in weeks.  I also walked with about 7% of my sales.  Yep, something was definitely up.  And I wish that I cared but I don’t.  My manager Allan pulled me aside tonight and told me that the next time I didn’t feel well I should just call in sick.  That it’s just not worth it to come in and feel miserable all night.  I have to agree with him.  Words to live by.

So I had slept about 2 hours when I finally pulled my ass out of bed thing morning.  I had one cup of coffee and was napping on the sofa waiting for the maid (it’s so nice to have a maid).  She got here a little before 9:00.  She is actually the daughter-in-law of the woman who usually cleans our apartment.  The woman who normally does it just had surgery and will be out of commission for the next several weeks so she’s have the d-i-l fill in.  So when she got here this morning we chatted a bit.  I explained a couple of things to her, told her that the vacuum was still broken, and then told her I was going back to bed.  And this is what sucks.  I had only had two hours of sleep and knew that I couldn’t function on that, so I chose to not have my bedroom cleaned today so that I could go back to bed.  I hated that the sheets weren’t changed and the bed made when I got home tonight.  And that everything had been put a way.  But I had to sleep.  In all I think I got two hour before she got here, and about two after she got here.  Which helped but was not enough.

I’m tired so I have no idea if what I’m trying to say makes any sense.  If it doesn’t sorry.

7 thoughts on “I Need Sleep

  1. Cincy Diva April 3, 2008 / 03:10

    coming from a fellow insomniac, I feel your pain. I generally start feeling the need to sleep one hour before I am due at work. I then catch myself dozing at my desk.
    Now that you have insurance, you might wat to ask your doctor about some sort of sleeping aid.
    I hope you get some rest soon!
    Hugs
    Cincy

  2. Lemuel April 3, 2008 / 05:04

    My own opinion is that the need for sleep trumps the need even for clean sheets and neatness. Sleep well, my friend, sleep well.

  3. Rick April 3, 2008 / 05:46

    Hope your feeling better. Tylenol PM does the trick for me.

  4. Sarah April 3, 2008 / 08:00

    You don’t just have a maid but you have a proxy maid. In three minutes I’m starting up the vacuum and getting ready to mop. Did I mention my maid envy in my prior comment?

    While I don’t have a maid, I do have insomnia. For the second night in a row I’ve fought it with an over-the-counter-up-here codeine laced aspirin. I’m so easy to knock out once my brain goes into slo-mo mode. If the tv wasn’t on the fritz (1 hr til repairman arrives – gotta vacuum) I wouldn’t bother with it but as my late night time killing has been hampered these days, I’m a pill popper.

  5. Chris April 3, 2008 / 10:23

    I’m the incredible walking insomniac from time to time too so I completely understand. As much as I love clean sheets I would have chosen sleep as well…

  6. dirkmancuso April 3, 2008 / 10:54

    A maid.

    You lucky bastard.

    (Okay, so the sleep thing truly sucks, but you have a maid…)

  7. pseudonymblog April 5, 2008 / 15:49

    Hi! I’m new to wordpress…and am trying to expand beyond my own little blogging world…and in doing so, I discovered your blog…just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

