Alas I do have a roommate.

I discovered the most amazing thing this evening morning.  I DO have a roommate.  I knew there was someone who helped pay the rent but I had not seen him in more than a week.  There were tell, tell signs that he existed though.  The light on the bookshelf would mysteriously be left on when I came home from work.  There would be more Diet Coke in the fridge when I got home then when I left.  The dishes in the sink would be washed.  There would be mail ont he table for me.

I was starting to worry about how all of these things happened.

But it turns out I do have a roommate.  At 6:45 this morning he emerged from his room and said hello.  I was so shocked that I almost fell down.  It’s the first sign on life in the apartment that I’ve seen in six days.  What could I do but be in shock.

All of this would be funny if it weren’t 7:06 a.m. and I didn’t like Chuck.  I got home around 45 minutes ago and saw him for the first time in almost a week.  My schedule has been so insane that we haven’t seen each other.  The only reason I saw him this morning was because I went out drinking till about an hour ago.

So here I am drunk and happy to see the roommate that I haven’t seen all week.

And with that I’m going to bed.  It’s 7:09 and I’m drunk and tired and I don’t have to be up till at least 7:00 p.m. tomorrow.  All of you poor suckers who have to work.  Have a great time.  Just don’t call me cause I’ll be sleeping.

4 thoughts on “Alas I do have a roommate.

  1. Lemuel March 24, 2008 / 07:15

    What’s your phone number again? If we have to be up and working, so should you! [kidding!] Enjoy your day off/sleep!

  2. Kelly March 24, 2008 / 23:09

    damn damn damn… so sad you will not be around for our visit… we tend to stay up all night tooo/

  3. urspo March 24, 2008 / 23:29

    that sounds like an ideal roommate
    and I promise not to call you, especailly late for dinner.

  4. Michael March 25, 2008 / 08:09

    I always thought the best room mates were the ones you never see. AND he does dishes? Priceless!

Leave a Reply

