Wednesday’s Mistakes.

Some time’s I’m not the brightest bulb in the box.  The sharpest knife in the drawer.

Take tonight for instance.  I had planned to go out after work.  I had planned it for several days.  I haven’t been out with people after work for a while and a beer sounded like a great idea.  And so I went.  Which was fine.  I had three beers and I came home.  The reason this wasn’t such a good idea is that I have to work tomorrow.  I don’t usually go out on “school nights” because I end up being tired or hungover and most times both.  And yet I went out.

Another reason I’m not so bright.

I usually only work four nights a week.  Anyone whose been reading my blog for more than a minute knows that even just four days is too much.  My feet hurt.  My body aches.  I’m just too much for more.  And four days is more than enough to pay all my bills and have money left over at the end of the month.  In fact I can give up a couple of those shifts and still have plenty left over.  So this week I was scheduled five shifts.  This in and of itself is a blog post.  I was scheduled four cocktail shifts and one “regular” shift.  Not only was it a “regular” shift.  It was in the worst station in the restaurant.  Needless to say I had a few conversations about what was going on.  Without going into all the details, the shift was at least changed to a more desirable “regular” shift.  So what did I do tonight?  Well around 10:00 the closing manager called me into her office.  Seems Danielle one of my favorite cocktail servers is sick and needed someone to cover her shift tomorrow (Thursday) and since I’m such a nice guy I said yes.  So not only am I schedules five shifts.  Covering Danielle’s shift makes it six for the week.  By the time Sunday comes I’ll be ready to kill people.

And none of this would be awful except that I’ve done something to my right ankle.  It started bothering me at the end of last week and it’s gotten worse.  I don’t know if it’s stress.  Or a sprain.  Or what.  I know that it hurts.  I’ve been killing the pain with Advil and Tylenol, alternating each every two hours.  For the most part this seems to help, but I can’t help wondering what I’m doing to my system.  And yet, I’ll tell you what I’ve told everyone whose asked me why I was limping tonight.  My fucking ankle hurts and it’s not like I have sick days I can use.  If I don’t work, I don’t make money.  So I work.  And that’s the end of it.

On a completely different note, well sort of.  I officially get health insurance as of April 1.  Yippee!!!!

You have no idea how excited I am.  Tomorrow I’m calling to make appointments with a GP doctor, a podiatrist, and a dentist.  By the middle of April I’ll be on my way to being just like new.

5 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Mistakes.

  1. Mike March 20, 2008 / 06:10

    “… we can rebuild him… better… stronger… faster…”

    LOL!

  2. Lemuel March 20, 2008 / 06:41

    Before I got to your last paragraph, I was already saying, “hie thee to a podiatrist.” I see you are taking my advice. 😉

    The beginning of your post reminded me of a song that I was listening to by Gaelic Storm entitled “Don’t Go for the One”. If you brought home a bag of snails, I will be on the floor laughing.

  3. urspo March 20, 2008 / 10:31

    however, medical services can’t replace good self care – please try to stretch and keep yourself well in that strenous job !

  4. dirkmancuso March 20, 2008 / 11:02

    The older I get, the more I realize there are fewer things that can ruin your day than aching feet and/or back trouble.

    And it’s like it just happens one day, too. I don’t ever remember having either one in my 30’s…

  5. Donnie March 21, 2008 / 09:53

    So glad to hear you’re getting health insurance. That’s the best benefit of my teaching gig.

Leave a Reply

