Sucky Internet Connections

Sorry about no posts for the last couple of days.  I was exhausted on Friday night and fell asleep watching TV sometime around 11:30.  I woke up and went straight to bed.  Last night I was checking email and was going to post, but the lovely Internet service that we pay 12 trillion dollars a month for decided not to cooperate.  After re-starting the modem several times, I said fuck it and went to bed.

Out Internet has been so bad in the last few months that I actually discussed with my roommate this morning that perhaps it was time to try Verizon as a provider.  We have been with Time Warner since we moved in to our apartment two years ago.  It worked great for a while.  But that has cease to be the case.  First our modem went kaput.  And so we got a new one.  And that has been the beginning of the end.  For a while it was really bad so we called to make an appointment for someone to come repair it.  They got here (and he was hot too), replaced all the cables behind the TV, along with all the connectors.  It was then pointed out that the REAL problem was the line coming into the apartment from outside.  So we made an appointment for someone to come and replace the outside lines.  So the following week this guy shows up (not hot).  He comes into the apartment and immediately tells me the problem is the cables behind the TV and that the connectors are wrong.  I assure him that they’ve all been replaced and that we just need the outside lines replaced.  He leaves and comes back five minutes later.  Seems he brought a 12 foot ladder and since we live on the third floor this is a problem, and we’ll need to reschedule.  So the next week a new cable guy shows up to replace the outside cables.  He gets here (according to my roommate he’s cute too) and what would you know.  He also has a 12 foot ladder and since we live on the third floor this is a problem.  Luckily my roommate is here to deal with this one.  Somehow while checking things out, it’s discovered that the problem is that the line coming into the house is crimped.  This is fixed and suddenly things are good.

For a moment.

It’s been a couple of months now and things are back to before.  It’s not consistent.  It’s not reliable.  And we are paying 12 trillion dollars a month for the service.  It should work when we want it to.  Right?

So my roommate is calling this week to see what the price difference is and to see what will need to happen to change the service.  All I know is that I hope it works.

Have a great week everyone.  And my review of Gypsy will be posted tomorrow night.  I have three pages of hand written notes about what sucked about it.

4 thoughts on “Sucky Internet Connections

  1. Lemuel March 17, 2008 / 05:05

    We had high speed cable at the old place and with the exception of some glitches at start up it worked fine. Since moving to the new place we have Verizon DSL. I was a bit concerned about it because the advertised speed was slower than cable, but so far it has been fine and the reliability has been good. We chose it because the overall deal with phone, cell, satellite tv and internet was pretty good.

    Of course, with all things, if the phone lines are bad where you live, the DSL will suck too.

  2. Michael March 17, 2008 / 08:34

    Let me know how Verizon works for you. I would gladly stop giving Time Warner 12 trillion dollars myself if Verizon is better.

  3. Donnie March 17, 2008 / 16:07

    I have Time Warner as well, but luckily out here in “the sticks” service seems to be strong & consistent.

  4. urspo March 17, 2008 / 21:06

    bad internet connections make me very impatient; I need to chill out on this. i will have a stroke if i don’t let it go.
    still, when you see ‘instant’ results, everything else seems slow and irksome.

Leave a Reply

