UGH!!!

Hi.

I often wonder how I manage to be up so late every night. Even when I try to get to bed early I end up going to bed later than I want to.

It’s been one of those days.

First, my little encounter with Paul was canceled today. He’s from Philadelphia and had to leave earlier than expected. He apologized and told me he would call me when he’s in town in a couple of weeks. I’ll keep you posted on whether that happens or not.

cocktail_shaker_20_oz_gc161_4_in.jpg

I’m officially NOT going to be a bartender at work. I was offered the position today, but I’d already decided that based on how I was being treated I didn’t want to work for the new manager. I’ve also realized by talking to the bartenders that I would take a serious pay cut to be a bartender. At least in the beginning. I would get all the shit shifts and would end up working mostly days. I hate working days and I don’t think I could live on the money they were describing. I also realized that I have it easy right now. I get the schedule I want. I work in the stations that I want. If I need a day off it’s no problem. If I want to give up a shift it’s no problem. And all that would change if I became a bartender. So I told the manager no. We’ll see if he’s mad at me over the next few weeks.

Tomorrow is my big Broadway day.

gypsylupone.jpg

A friend of mine is working on the new production of Gypsy with Patti Lupone. She’s going to walk me into the show tomorrow afternoon so that I can watch for free. I’m excited. Gypsy is one of my favorite shows. I think it’s because it’s the first play I was ever in. I played Pop, Rose’s father. “You ain’t getting 88 cents from me Rose.” At 16 I was very believable as a 65 year old man. Really I was. Anyway, so I get to see the show tomorrow. As I said it’s one of my favorites. Hearing the overture live, is worth the price of admission. It’s considered the best overture in musical theatre. If you didn’t know I was gay. You do now. And then on top of all of this is seeing Patti Lupone again. I think she’s great. And it’s a role she was born to play. I’ll report in tomorrow night on how she is.

mermaidpicturebmp.jpeg

And then tomorrow night I’m seeing The Little Mermaid. When I got to work tonight they were giving away tickets to everything. Concerts, plays, etc. I could care less about the concerts but who wouldn’t want to see The Little Mermaid, even though I’ve heard it’s bad. It’s Disney. How bad could it really be? So once again I’ll report in tomorrow night and let you know how it is.

That’s a wrap.

5 thoughts on “UGH!!!

  1. Mike March 12, 2008 / 06:09

    Let’s see… if I leave right now for the airport, I could make it just in time…

    *sigh*

  2. Lemuel March 12, 2008 / 06:52

    We’ll look forward to hearing your report on the shows…[a-hem]… not because we’re gay or anything…[uh]..it’s just that we want to know that you had a good time and all. 😉

    I like the fact that YOU decided to turn down the bartending gig. From what you are telling us, the downs did outweigh the ups. It is always empowering to say “no”.

  3. Donnie March 12, 2008 / 14:53

    Can’t wait to read your show reviews. Congrats on turning down the bartending position.

  4. Michael March 12, 2008 / 16:11

    Can’t wait to hear your feedback on Gypsy and Mermaid.

    And you’re right: Best. Overture. Ever.

  5. Daniel March 12, 2008 / 16:42

    I love Gypsy. I saw Bette Midler do it on television, which I know doesn’t count, but she was great. I would soooo love to see Patti Lupone do it, though.

Leave a Reply

