My dogs…

Before:

sore-feet-2.jpg

After:

img_0971.jpg

Aren’t those some delicious looking toes?  And damn my feet feel wonderful.

I did something today that I’ve never done before.  I got a pedicure.  And not only a pedicure, I got the full spa treatment.  With the foot soak, the massage,  the paraffin wax, the whole nine yards.

On Sunday my friend Ruby from work mentioned that she was going after work to get her toes done.  I laughingly suggested she wait till later in the week and we could go together.  She said okay.  Now I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, but I’d never do it by myself and it’s hard to find other guys to go with you.  And when all your female friends are lesbians, they don’t really care what their toes look like.  And so when the opportunity presented itself I jumped on it.

And it was amazing.  Just soaking your feet in the hot water was nice.  But then it has little jets massaging your feet and some sort of gel that softens everything.  It was heavenly.  Then they spent about 90 minutes trimming my nails and dealing with my cuticles.  Well not really.  But I’m a guy and I don’t spend a lot of time on my toes.  I clip the nails every three of four months and that’s about it.  I’m kidding.  But I don’t really spend much time on my feet.  After they did the nails, I got to soak them some more.  And then they used their little razor blade thing to get rid of all the calluses.  I was worried about this because I’ve had some ginormous blisters on my feet in the last week and its left a lot of dead skin.  But they were very gentle and now you’d never even know I’d had the blisters.  And then I soaked my feet some more.  And then they dipped them in the hot wax.  Supposedly this softens the skin on your feet.  And then the rubbed some sort of pink thing on them.  And then I got to soak them some more.

And this is where things really go funny.  My friend Ruby said she’d only go with me, if I had my nails painted some fun color.  I told her that was fine as long as they weren’t red.  So when we first got there I chose a beautiful blue color.  As you can see it flatters my toes nicely.   So when they finished with our feet.  The lady doing mine got up and left.  So my feet were on the little foot rest thing drying.  And then the woman doing Ruby’s feet painted her nails and then led her to the little nail drying machine.  She then told me to go wait in a chair.  I told her no I wanted my nails painted.  And she said no, go wait in the chair.  And I said no once again and said no I want my nails painted.  Finally she realized I was being serious and sat down and painted my nails.  And when she was finished I too moved to a nail drying machine.  This was my least favorite part because it takes about 20 minutes for your nails to dry completely and it means just sitting there.

And there you have it– my first pedicure.

Of course I haven’t mentioned the annoying part.  They charged me six dollars more than they did Ruby because I was a man.  No explanation.  No reason.  You pay more cause you man.  It’s really hard to discuss it with them because none of them have a complete command of the English language.  So it kind of pissed me off.  Of course I would have paid a hundred dollars more to have my feet feel as good as they do right now.

2 thoughts on “My dogs…

  1. Lemuel March 8, 2008 / 07:30

    I assume that the picture of the scars were from a much earlier time and that the pedicure did not accomplish that miracle.

    I’ve never had a pedicure, but I hear from others what you have said, what a delightful experience it is.

  2. Donnie March 8, 2008 / 16:36

    OUCH! You should’ve put up a warning before posting that before pic!

    I’d love a ‘mani-pedi’ right about now. Glad to see that you treated yourself.

Leave a Reply

