And the winner is…

The Cold.

In the battle of the Cold vs. Maddog, I think the cold is winning.  It’s been four days now and except for the fever being gone I don’t feel much better.  I had to venture out into the wild today to go to Costco to pick up my sanity drugs.  The train ride takes a little over an hour to get there, and then there’s a fifteen minute walk from the train.  It takes more than three hours to get there and back.  The reason I go so far to get my prescriptions filled is because Costco is significantly cheaper than anyone located near me.   By the time I got to the train today I was winded and felt like I’d run the NYC Marathon.  By the time I got to the store and waited in line and then got back on the train I felt more like I’d been hit in the head with a hammer.  And by the time I got home it was definitely more like I’d been hit by a bus.  I came in dumped my stuff on my bed and headed for the sofa.  I’ve been there ever since.  Lying flat seems to help the headache so I tend to only be upright in limited doses.  I’ll probably have to go lie down again before I get this posted.

On my way home from Costco I dropped by work.  I called in sick Friday, Saturday, and Sunday and wanted to just check in.  Company policy states that if you call in three or more days, to be excused you need a doctors note.  I have not been to the doctor and don’t plan on going.   It’s bad enough that I missing work but if I also have to shell out 100+ dollars to visit a doctor I’m going to be fucked.  No one mentioned a doctor’s note when I called in but I wanted to cover my bases.  I also wanted to try and get my shift for Wednesday covered.  That would give me till Friday to start feeling like a real person again.  As soon as I walked in my manager could easily see that I wasn’t lying about being sick.  He asked how I was doing and wanted to know if I needed anything.  I said I still felt like shit and needed to put up a sign to get my Wednesday night shift covered.  He told me not to worry about it and to go home and get better.  They really do like me at work.

And so I came home.  Got comfy on the couch after taking some cold medicine.  And slept for almost 90 minutes.  I almost felt better when I woke up.  Actually I felt better until about 15 minutes ago when I got up and started typing.  I wonder if I can wait tables lying down.  It’s really the only way that I can keep my head from pounding.

I remembered having this same sort of cold thing last year in Iowa.   As it turns out, it was a year ago last week.  I wonder if I can put it on my calendar for next year to take the third week of February off because I’ll be sick.  Just a thought.

3 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. Lemuel February 26, 2008 / 07:42

    The symptoms you are describing remind me of the colds I used to get with the sinus headaches. Every time I changed positions (stood, sat, lay down), my head would pound as if hit by a sledge while on an anvil. Not fun. Interestingly I have not had one of those for years.

    Again, I am sending best wishes for healing and health.

  2. urspo February 26, 2008 / 12:23

    poor fellow; colds are nature’s way to get you to stay put/stay home/don’t move don’t you know.

    Your trek to save money almost doesn’t sound worth it given the time/strain it evokes.

    the old remedies still help – fluids, baths (to get you to sweat) and most important – sleep

    get well soon.

  3. Brian Finch February 26, 2008 / 22:27

    I love the look of the site. Feb. sucks man! There just seems to be no way around it. I’m not sure about you guys, but one hour’s flight north and we’ve had the most snow on record in this month.

    Take me back to my warm travels of last month!

Leave a Reply

