Maddog’s Day Off

I was off today.  I’m off for the next ten days.  I had originally taken off to do a show on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday but due to some certain circumstances I resigned from the project.  By then it was too late to change the request so I’m off.  On Thursday I’m flying to Maine to do another drag show and to drink beer and relax with the lesbians.  I get back on Tuesday, February 12.  Then on Wednesday, my ex-boyfriend Curtis is coming to visit and there you have it.  12 days off.

I have to admit that I’m looking forward to it.  I haven’t much felt like working the last week or so.  I think it’s because I haven’t been making much money.  It’s hard to get motivated when you are making about an 1/8th of what you were making before Christmas.  I am looking forward to getting behind the bar when I come back.  I am a little nervous though.  How will I ever remember what’s in all those drinks.  A sea breeze, a tom collins, a gin and tonic, a blow job.  I have no idea.  Perhaps I’ll just make it up until I have them all memorized.  It hasn’t been announced yet at work that I’m transferring departments.  I know a lot of people are going to be annoyed by the announcement.  Especially since I haven’t been back that long.  But what can you do.  I think once I’ve been doing it a while it will be fun.

I went to Ikea today.  I had to buy two new dining chairs so that I can seat six at my table.  I was a little nervous that they wouldn’t have the ones I wanted because I’m having dinner for six tomorrow night.  But I was worrying for nothing.  They had a bunch of them.  Of course I couldn’t just walk in and buy the chairs.  I had to start upstairs and wander through all the rooms.  And I bought a lot more than I needed to.  I bought some candles (they are cheap there, although they didn’t have the ones I usually buy), I bought some pendant lamps to hang over our little bar, and I know I bought other things but I don’t remember what it is.  I always enjoy the trip so it was fun to go.

Lydia, the cleaning lady, is coming tomorrow.  That means that I have to be up around 8:00 a.m. so that I can prepare dinner and get it in the crock pot before I leave.  I also have to explain to her that I need her to turn on the crock pot before she leaves.  She doesn’t speak a lot of English so it might be a little hard.  But I know enough Spanish, I think to get by.  This also means that I have to be out of the apartment for most of the afternoon, so I’m going to have to find some things to keep me busy.  The three things I have to do are  get flowers, coffee and pick up the rest of the groceries.  I don’t think this will take all afternoon though.  I plan on taking a book with me so that if I find I have time left I can stop in a coffee shop and read.

And with that I have to get to bed since I have to be up early.

4 thoughts on “Maddog’s Day Off

  1. Lemuel February 4, 2008 / 06:06

    Have a great day today! Enjoy each day you have off!

    I am assuming that IKEA delivers? I cannot imagine hauling all that stuff via subway or carrying it around.

  2. Michael February 4, 2008 / 09:42

    10 days off! I’m envious.

    Does anyone really order a Tom Collins anymore?

  3. Daniel February 4, 2008 / 23:06

    Well, your life is a whirlwind right now!
    Enjoy the lull in the storm…

  4. urspo February 5, 2008 / 23:39

    10 days sounds divine
    i hope every one of them is marvelous.

Leave a Reply

