Maddog’s Ramblings…

It’s 12:20 and the muses have gone to bed.  I have no idea what to write about tonight.  So here are more Maddog ramblings.

The Democratic debate was interesting tonight.  Hillary and Barack actually seemed to be having fun and were nice to each other.  The only real barbs thrown out tonight were from Wolf Blitzer, and Hillary quickly reigned him in.  Now I just have to figure out which one I’m voting for since Edwards dropped out of the race.  Tonight I played a drinking game during the debate.  I took a swig of beer each time the candidates mentioned Edwards.  I’ll probably be drunk for days.

My friend Caleb came over tonight.  He sent me an email wanting to talk about life.  He arrived and finished watching the debate with us.  We chatted afterwards.  I think he’s having a midlife crisis.  He’s only 26.  Ugh.

I think I’m taking the bartending gig.  I spoke to the manager tonight and as soon as he checks it out with the GM it’s all mine.  I’m still not sure if it’s the right decision, but as my friend Lee pointed out to me it’s a very marketable skill.  If I can bartend in a high volume Manhattan bar, I can bartend anywhere.

My ex-boyfriend Curtis is coming to visit in two weeks.  He’s interviewing for a job in New Jersey and is going to be staying with me for two days.  It will be nice to see him, since I haven’t seen him since Thanksgiving 2006.  My roommate thinks he’s a little dull, but he is VERY cute so I guess that makes up for it.

I’m going to Maine next Thursday to do another drag show.  I’m actually getting paid this time which is nice.  They are flying me up, feeding me, and giving me a stipend.  Not to mention I get to drink beer while I work AND get to spend time with the lesbians.  What more could a gay boy want.  Doris if you are reading this, I love you.  I’m secretly praying that it snows while I am there.  The last time NYC saw less snow than this year was 1933.  Damn global warming.

I work the next two days and I’m hoping that there are more customers than there were earlier in the week.  It has been a very slow week and I NEED to make some money.  After Saturday I am off for 10 days and it would be nice to not be in the hole when I come back.

I went to Costco today.  It’s the cheapest place in town to get prescriptions without insurance.  It takes me an hour 15 to get there.  And an hour 15 home.  That’s why I was upset when I got there to discover the pharmacist wouldn’t be back from lunch for 30 minutes.  It wasn’t my fault he got to lunch late.  Why should I be punished.  When I initially asked for my drugs I was told no.  When I asked to speak to the manager and pointed to the sign that said the pharmacy reopened at 2:30 not 3:00 they were suddenly able to get my medicine.  Damn I can be grumpy.

On Sunday I’m going to Ikea.  I have to buy two more chairs for my dining table.  That way I can seat six at my dinner party on Monday.  I’m a little afraid that when I get there they won’t have the ones I want.  What will I do then.  The people are already invited.  Where will I have them sit.

Yesterday (1/30) would have been my father’s 79th birthday.  He died five years ago.  I still miss him, but I know my mom misses him more.  I called and left her a message yesterday to let her know I was thinking about her.  It’s funny we talk almost everyday now and before he died, we only spoke every couple of weeks or so.

I’m not going to get  to go to Hawaii after all.  My friend Lee is coming back in just three weeks.  There’s no way I can afford to go before he comes back.  I guess now I’ll just go to San Diego in March.  It will be fun to see my friends there because it’s been a year since I was there.

That’s enough ramblings for one night.

2 thoughts on “Maddog’s Ramblings…

  1. Lemuel February 1, 2008 / 06:12

    I find rambling blogs to be among the most interesting and fascinating. It is amazing what we learn from each other.

    Good luck with the bartend gig. It certainly would be a marketable skill (on that side of your resume) just about anywhere. Now I’m trying to picture you as Tom Cruise in Cocktail. 🙂

    From my perspective we have had no snow this winter, altho mid-Feb will be the key. If it will snow, it usually snows then around here. All-in-all, I too would rather be in ME with Family.

  2. shotwell February 2, 2008 / 16:36

    Um, a drag king show in POrtland?!? WHere? I am a San francisco transplant and would love to get out and see a show and meet some queer folks. Email me at shotwell59@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

