30 Dollars Worth of Project Runway

Tonight was slow at work.  When I say slow.  I mean REALLY slow.  If every night were like tonight I’d have to start thinking about prostituting myself to pay the bills.  Of course as my roommate likes to point out, who would pay for an over-weight, middle aged man who waits tables for a living.  All kidding aside, I only made 30 bucks at work tonight.  I waited on about seven tables, and that’s counting the two that didn’t tip.  After tip out 30 bucks was what was left.  I’m not complaining though.  There’s only about two or three more weeks before the business becomes insane again as people start to go on spring break.  At that point it will be a zoo again.  I just have to hold out till then.

It’s been a Project Runway week for me at work.  On Saturday night I waited on a table of four women.  They were out celebrating a 40th birthday, and had been drinking and did some more while I waited on them.  About 10 minutes into my greeting the table I was asked if I recognized any of them, since one of them was a celebrity.  I said no but asked why she was famous.  Turns out she was a model on Project Runway this season.  On Episode 5 the models were all women who had lost a significant amount of weight.  The designers were then asked to use “fat” clothes the women wore before they lost weight to design a new look for them.  My particular model was paired up with Jack.  It was in this episode that Jack got sick and left the show.  He was replaced by Chris who I love.

gallery_images_episode_05_pic07.jpg

gallery_images_episode_05_pic17.jpg

rate_runway_04_405.jpg

So my customer was very proud of her stint on the show and it was fun getting the inside scoop from her.

Jack really was sick and spent a week in the hospital.

Chris is a sweetheart and she loved working with him.

Christian is just as annoying in real life as he is on TV.

She has no idea who wins the season.  In fact she didn’t know who won the challenge that she was taking part in.  They were whisked away and out of the building by security guards long before the winners were announced.

She says that Jillian is beautiful in real life.  I don’t think so but maybe it’s the 10 pounds TV adds.

It was fun chatting with her and she and her friends promised to come back and visit.  They live in Connecticut.

And then today Heidi Klum was in the restaurantproject-runway.gif

Unfortunately she was led directly to the event she was attending and I didn’t get to see her.  My co-worker who was waiting on her said that she was more beautiful in person than she was on TV.  I was just pissed that I didn’t at least get to see her.  Of course I did make 30 dollars so I guess it was a fair trade.

5 thoughts on “30 Dollars Worth of Project Runway

  1. Lemuel January 30, 2008 / 06:05

    That has got to be a plus for your job: the occasional spotting of celebs. Too bad you did not get to meet Heidi AND make the 30 bucks! 😉

  2. Michael January 30, 2008 / 07:08

    Ooh! I love the inside dish! And as for prostituting yourself–don’t kid yourself–there’s a market for everything!

  3. Steph January 30, 2008 / 12:27

    Jack rocks.

  4. Mike January 30, 2008 / 19:58

    I don’t watch the show, personally. I let Sorted tell me what happens – since she has the damned thing TiVo’d.

    And Michael is right. If you get some time, let me tell you about all of Sorted’s exes.

    There’s a story…

  5. urspo January 30, 2008 / 23:50

    i can’t watch project runway
    having some haughty person say you’re in or your’e out strikes such as nerve in me.

Leave a Reply

