Time for Math Class…

Work sucked tonight. I repeat. Work sucked tonight. I made less money tonight than I have since I started working there. I’d love to say I sold less but that’s not the case. The foreigners were out in force tonight. It got so bad that I kept my receipts so I could share the “good” news with you.

Here are some of my favorite tips tonight.

Bill: $54.05 Tip: $00.00

Bill: $22.22 Tip: $1.78

Bill: $61.01 Tip: $00.00

Bill: $49.80 Tip: $2.20

Bill: $110.71 Tip: $9.29

Bill: $15.28 Tip: $.72

Bill: $28.39 Tip: $1.61

Bill: $25.46 Tip: $.54

Bill: $66.20 Tip: $3.80

Bill: $11.43 Tip: $00.00

Total: $444.55 Total Tip: $19.94

Total Tip Out Expected to Bartenders, Busser and Food runner on $444.55: $22.22

So to wait on these 10 tables it actually cost me $2.28.

The total amount I should have made after tip out should have been somewhere between the amounts: $44.46 and $66.69 if everyone had left between 18% and 20%.

The actual percentage I made before tipout: .045 percent. There seems to be a shortage if you ask me.

It also didn’t help that most of the tables I waited on tonight didn’t seem to be eating. Two beers and a plate of nachos runs about $22.00. It takes a lot of these tables if you are going to make a living. Luckily, most of the tables I waited on early in the evening were very generous. Their 20-40 percent tips helped to make up some of the difference. Unfortunately, because we were slow there weren’t enough of these tables to make it a profitable evening.

It’s a good thing rent is due this week, otherwise I don’t know what I would do with all of my riches.

Ugh.

5 thoughts on “Time for Math Class…

  1. Lemuel January 28, 2008 / 06:10

    I’m such a sot. When I got to pick up my own pizza at the pizza shop, I leave a tip in the jar far greater than any of these guys. I guess I just need to learn from them. [not!]

    I must confess that I do not understand why you must tip the others when you did not get a tip yourself. I could understand giving them a percentage of each tip in which they were involved, but the s.o.p. that you describe obviously can result in a net loss for you. Somehow that does not seem at all fair. Is management aware of this scenario. I would think they would be and should take corrective action.

  2. Kelly January 28, 2008 / 09:27

    We are pushing good karma in your direction. Your next shift will bring you tons of $’s… it will be the best shift of your life…

  3. Joe January 28, 2008 / 11:35

    I am always amazed at the way how little people tip. When I have dinner at the local diner, it comes to about $10 and I always leave at least $3.

  4. Eric January 28, 2008 / 12:37

    I’m starting to get a sinking feeling that you work at the holy hellpit of a restaurant I worked at. The tips sound almost exactly the same, as do the circumstances, to the point where I want to shout out the name.
    But I won’t. But I’m curious.
    I actually went to the management there and argued my way right to quitting and telling them all to go to hell when I didn’t serve one alcoholic beverage all night, got shit for tips, actually DELIVERED bar food for the bartenders, and was somehow expected to tip the bartender based on my sales.
    I told them what they could do with it.

  5. urspo January 28, 2008 / 23:31

    that is a disappointment.
    people can be so cheap.

Leave a Reply

